You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Create your own Ethereum Wallet?

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

If you are going to use a wallet like this, for the love of all things holy, BACK IT UP!

Here are the ways I have my stuff backed up:

  • Passworded zip file containing various wallets/keys
  • The zip file is secured on a cloud storage service with a strong password and two factor auth
  • Paper wallet printed, hidden from plain sight and stored at my parent's house
  • USB drive containing the passworded zip I mentioned above, hidden in my apartment
  • DVD disc containing the zip I mentioned above, hidden at my parent's house
  • External hard drive with the zip file and a password blocking people from accessing the drive
  • Do your usual due diligence and don't browse questionable sites or accept strange files, and if you do make sure you have a good antivirus
  • Consider a hardware wallet, but your choices are limited as many altcoins aren't supported by them (yet)

I'm also using generated passwords (4Js*dS5fjI38, for example) on all my exchange logins.

Sort:  

Excellent reply @doggocoin.

I personally accessed my private key through an encrypted USB. I will also post an article on how to do it.
Thank you for stopping by.

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76