SPOTLIGHT: The Most Undervalued STEEM Project Need Your Support - #FeelTheBurn

in #esteem88 years ago (edited)

esteem8.png

One thing that is absolutely fascinating with STEEM is the amount of people who are building apps and tools on top of it. Bitcoin may have more people developing but it took years to get to the level that STEEM is at already.

We don't only reward devs monetarily either. With our comments and feedback, we encourage them to keep drinking coffee and code for the benefit of us all!

ESTEEM8 - Why So Little Love?

When Busy.org was in development, everybody was jumping up and down. Cheering them on and upvoting them to fund the project. But when ESTEEM8 came out...crickets.

It's disheartening, in my opinion, when someone who write about how they love their dog earned more than someone who wrote thousands of lines of codes.

So What Is ESTEEM8?

ESTEEM8 is a radically open-source front-end to the steem blockchain. In their own words:

Decentralized, autonomous and community driven organization that provide an open-source light, design, and private web application to browse Steem.

**They currently only have 75 followers and barely made more than $10 on their updates. **

Their github shows 2 people that seems to be working pretty hard on the project:

esteem8.png

Please Encourage Our Developers!

How I wish I could write code and help...I'm sure many of us feel the same way. For those of us who can't write code, please follow their profile, upvote them, comment on their newest release to encourage them. For those who can code, check them out!

Also, please consider donating. I'll be donating a part of the earnings of this post to this project as well.

This is a #FeelTheBurn Post

If you don't know what that means, read this article here: (https://steemit.com/feeltheburn/@cryptoctopus/power-up-half-burn-half-30-day-challenge-another-approach-to-debt-reduction-feeltheburn)

#FeelTheBurn : $29.551

Sort:  

I appreciate what you guys are doing, even with the very few funds you are able to collect so far. I've upvoted all posts in @esteem8 that are still in the 30 day payout window as a token of my appreciation.

You may like to do some additional marketing. Bare with me, since I did not read all your posts, but you may consider to write a post (or multiple of them as in running a campaign) answering the question "Why Esteem8" will be so great, What the USPs are, How it differs from Steemit UI Busy UI's and this all in very easy non technical language and include some mockups, if you have them and they are very appealing looking. I hope you have "Simplicity" as Key requirement for the UI? That is what I learned being the TOP key requirement to make a service successful, in the last 20+ years of working in product management and sales positions in IT/Telecoms.

Update: @esteem8 has a new follower as well, although I already see the posts since I followed you already :)

Thanks,

answering the question "Why Esteem8" will be so great

Great idea thanks ! we're currently running it.

In short terms,

  • Accessibility (All device with a browser)
  • Usability (Native application quality like)
  • Privacy (No server-side, the user choose the node)

The APP is built to around user-experience and privacy, the users can use tor with changing the node, his not depending on something with a single point of failure.

Good. I like an App, or at least some notification that I can set and receive on my smartphone. That is what I like of eSteem, although eSteem is still quite slow. I understand the web approach though, it also requires less development and headaches to get the Apps in the stores and people to download them. But it has it downsides as well, like to no notification part which is for me a trigger to open Steemit and respond to comments.

We'll implement notifications after login function with the possibility to set for which type of event you want to get notified.

It's essential you add this to you recent [GitHub "What is ESTEEM?" doc](from our github here)

Agreed on all points!

Just went quickly through the posts you guys submitted last month. The roadmap post showed some diagram (GOOD!), but more or less showed only the process, not the content. I suggest to create in Powerpoint or so, some great slides (Why, What, How) and post them here as part of your marketing campaign. Maybe per post 1 USP, so you bring with every post a new message. Although I have limited followers being still some kind of newbie, I'll ReSteem those.

I agree. One thing you might want to look into is communicating your project in a way that non-programmers will understand. I will be checking you guys out definitely. :)

Absolute a very valuable comment!

Promoting and describing any software tool MUST be done in such a way acttualy. Next to that some factsheet/spec sheet can be created for the more techie readers to quickly understand what the software can do in shorter and maybe more exact wordings.

I wish I could code so bad. The only language I speak in that regard is html. I should learn since I habitually stay up for days at a time stuffing my brain with knowledge. I was learning in highschool, but that was about 13 years ago.

I'm learning dart and I'd be glad to help you to learn alongside me. Programming is fun. I'm 9 months in to code, and I'm 33. :).

Oh I would love to learn! That's very gracious of you. I've heard that one of the best ways to make information stick is to teach it, but regardless of that I seriously appreciate the offer and I'm definitely game.
Dart will help me so much with my plans for the future and having someone to teach me is the icing on the cake. I got into crypto etc and have been learning on my own which I don't mind, I love it in fact, but it's all the mistakes Ive had to learn from on my own that has been terribly painful and I relish the proposition of having a teacher to help me progress, because I know so much of my unknown will he found in this endeavor. Not to mention it being a dream come true. Really talk. I've wanted to learn code for so long, and html has only been able to take me so far. Might as well he Aramaic.
Seriously thankbyou so much!!!

Dart is difficult as a first language to learn. If you don't have programming experience you should learn JavaScript and then Python or Ruby. Once you have mastered an object oriented langague you'll find it much easier to go back and work with functional programming.

No names, no faces. Nobody know who is behind this project. Maybe that is the problem. I don't know.

The face behind the project is @primerz.
We're currently writing the project and it's organization presentation.

Good to know. Thanks.
Best if @cryptoctopus update the post with this info.

Its meant to be a decentralized open-source project...no face is kind of the point...no?

I know and understand that. But that's maybe the reason for low support from community. I always upvote and support every new project on steem.

The lack of names and faces is what initially let it slip by on me.
I get the opensource and decentralised part but I think people will be slow to get on board till they know a bit more about what its about. I have followed @primerz and I will give it a try this week.

Thanks @cryptoctopus for support !
We very appreciate that :)

es8 has my full 100% support. It's an amazingly great take on what steem could do for the web in general.

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.020 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

Indeed a shame - a fab project i would say! I actually (my bad) always thought it is esteem - mobile app - and might have missed to promote / comment / engage on esteem8 posts - i think you do rocking work! Following this now more focused!

What are differences from Steemit or Busy.org?

The application is not linked with a specified server, that means you can choose a node (server) very close to you and have better performance and eventually counter node ddos or network censorship that many "country" are placing. That point is like other natives apps.

Should STEEM be more like DASH ?!?!?
Only DASH stakeholders get to influence development & policy.
DASH pays 45% worth of mined coins to miners, 45% to developers, 10 % to other DASH 'workers' such as Amanda B Johnson who is their (FABULOUS) PR girl.
DASH developers have to be 'insiders'. They have to be integral to the DASH team.
Only DASH team members can VOTE on development, policy & protocols.
Very importantly, DASH master node operators can vote, but in order to be a master node operator you have to buy the privilege by purchasing a $1000 worth of DASH.
The only people who can VOTE on policy & protocol in DASH are DASH STAKEHOLDERS.
Bitcoin node operators DO NOT GET PAID - THEY ARE VOLUNTEERS!!!!
DASH has many more master node operators than Bitcoin.
Now do you see why Bitcoin node operators do NOT want their work load increased !!!!!!!!!!!!
Now do you see why Bitcoin transactions are so slow - too slow for everyday use AND TOO EXPENSIVE.
Bitcoin not only outsources its development but outsources to corporate mega giants who are perfectly willing to personally benefit from their 'development' contributions to Bitcoin by selling these developments to Bitcoin, rather than sharing the benefits equally with all Bitcoiners.
These outside Bitcoin developers probably own some Bitcoins so will experience an increase in Bitcoin wealth if their 'developments' increase the value of Bitcoin coins. BUT they are also incentivised to merely line their own non-Bitcoin pockets by making a profit for their own companies on the apps & codes they flog off to Bitcoin ..
Now see where unpaid volunteer node operators & paying outside developers for their products, got Bitcoin ??????????????
Is STEEM's business model same as DASH's or more like (stupid) Bitcoin.
Bitcoin's meteoric rise is due mainly to market sentiment ---
DASH may very well surpass Bitcoin eventually - their business model is much fairer & very much more user-friendly .....
Sounds to me like STEEM developers should get paid more ........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83