I Spent Last Night in the Emergency Room

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

wd4tagg1g4.jpg
t8nfvy63qx.png
Yesterday, was not the first time that I experienced heart palpitations. I've had these fluttering, irregular heart beats over the past few months, maybe even years -- when I indulged in food, drink, caffeine, lacked sleep, etc... But, they tended to go as quickly as they came and were, generally, few and far between.

Yet, since my second bout with lyme disease (less than two months ago) I feel like my body has not fully recovered. I find that I'm more vulnerable than usual (to fatigue, headaches, anxiety). This also includes more heart palpitations, these past few weeks, usually when I'm waking up after a short afternoon nap.

In the past week, however, the frequency and intensity of the palpitations have gotten worse. Few days ago, I had such pressure on the left side of my chest, all day long, that I felt discomfort breathing, deeply, or coughing. While the past couple days, I have felt my heart racing up to three times (or more) a day. It got so bad that my sleep was suffering and I began to dread going to bed, out of fear that I was going to have a heart attack -- the palpitations are, invariably, accompanied by numbness in my left arm and leg, akin to a sensation of pins and needles.

Finally, in the middle of the night, yesterday, after another scary episode, I decided enough was too much, dialed an Uber and went to the emergency room at the nearest hospital. As it turned out, I ended up spending the night hooked up to machines to monitor my heart.


image1 (5).jpeg


Mercifully, I was dispatched around five hours later, with a clean bill of health and the recommendation that I follow up with a cardiologist, to get to the bottom of this.

Overall, a sobering experience, particularly considering the horror stories that I saw and heard from the rooms next to mine at the emergency room. Yet another reason, since turning 45 a month ago, to meditate on mortality, try to lead a healthy life and give thanks for the countless blessings.

Take good care of yourselves, and don't ignore signals your body may be giving you.

Health is wealth _/|\_

t8nfvy63qx.png
lgssmqu66t.jpg

Sort:  

Oh Man..that sucks. Hope your doing better now. I had something similar. Stress test found nothing. I began walking more..every night I walk about a mile or so then also upped my H2O intake. Seemed to help relieve most of the episodes. Now I get them once every 2 months or so.

Best wishes with overcoming this !

Hey, man, thanks, for your kindness, I really appreciate it _/|\_

Yeah, trying to do more exercise-- I enjoy walks and the hope is to go for a swim, today. Also, until I see cardiologist and do stress test working on breathing through the palpitations and trying to worry less, which helps :)

Wishing you continued good health and best of luck with your art!

Thanks! I hear swimming is great for the body and mind. Wish I knew how to swim better. I’m more of a stand in the shallow end sort. Lol. Let me know how you you make out with the worrying. I often think about taking a class or workshop on meditation. I hear that works. Who knows.

You don't need to be a great swimmer for it to be a good full body workout and help you get in the zone (put your mind at ease). I enjoy breast stroke and underwater swimming (which can be real dreamy). Reading and writing is how I meditate/pray, instrumental music, helps, and nature walks. Certainly, if you're interested in meditation go for it; it does wonders to quiet the mind and still the (anxious) heart; might also inspire your art.

Dang my friend that's a crazy scary experience you just went through! I hope further investigation by the cardiologist sets you on a path to Healing! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry, Ken, just seeing this, now ... Been a bit out of it, but getting back on track. The basics help: breathing, eating well, rest, and simple exercise. Oh, yeah, and trying not to stress and having a good attitude. Thanks, for the love, brother, right back 'atcha <3

Well, that is terrifying, Yahia. Make sure you take good care of yourself. I am still doing well on carnivore. I have heard it has helped with Lyme disease.

Still reeling, Pryde, and relieved to have been spared. Sleep-deprived and slow, not sure what you mean "on carniovore". As I mentioned earlier, I eat meat... and vegetable, and fruits and nuts, etc... Probably, need to exercise more.

Hope you're well.

I mean just about only meat ... there are some folks that literally do only steak, salt, and water. I incorporate grass-fed liver and bone broth and other meats. And chocolate and coffee ... in wee bits. A girl has to live. LOL. I know it is not for everyone but if that Lyme disease keeps getting the best of you, it may help you some.

Oh, no, that doesn't sound like it's for me at all, thank you. I'm better off with white meat - chicken and trying to eat more fish. Bone broth sounds good (I remember you said yours was homemade). Coffee I miss, but I do green tea and rarely black... until I get back. Thanks, again, for (radical) diet tips, intrepid eater :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you, for your support _/|\_

Take care of you @yahialababidi and my best wishes with prayers for your quick recovery.

Thank you, for your care and kind wishes _/|\_

Sorry to hear that i hope you will feel better soon! Good luck

I appreciate it, thanks. Take good care of you, too!

That must have been scary. Take good care of yourself.

It was... Grateful, everything seems to be working, generally. Be well.

Drink a couple Red Bull’s, you’ll feel right as rain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I gather you're kidding, madgoat -- I gave those up, awhile ago, on account of the palpitations they produce ;)

Get well soon and take care my friend...

Alf salama, Yahia, i hope you're feeling better now!

Allah yi salimak, azzizi. Ni7midoo _/|\_

Hope this finds you in fine form!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66