I Challenged an Angel to Appear / Original Poem

in #esteem6 years ago

danielle-branchaud.jpg

thick line.png

For beauty is nothing
but the beginning of terror, which we still are just able to endure,
and we are so awed because it serenely disdains
to annihilate us. Every angel is terrifying.

—Rilke

thick line.png

What If

If he truly believed in angels
they would appear, I said in a dream
(of whom I spoke I can’t recall)

Then I remember disintegrating
into hot tears as I realized
that I also spoke of myself

And in that wild, greedy moment
I challenged an angel to appear
as I cowered in a darkened closet

Full of longing and terror, I endured
the suspense of that great What If
—relieved the angel did not answer.

© Yahia Lababidi

angel.png

leaf flourish.png
Art by: Danielle Branchaud

Sort:  

Great poetry as always ,your poetry is great reflection of spirituality ,great post dear keep it up dear God bless you

Thank you 🙏🏼Was just sharing these fine words on Steemit:

All we know
is mute.
Only the rosy mouth of mystery
speaks
and keeps us alive.

–Liliana Ursu

Once we consent to embark on an adventure of the spirit, we enter the realm of the incommunicable. I hope, one day, to be worthy of my longing...

Amazing again ,no words

Posted using Partiko Android

Aslam-o-Alaikum Bro!

Wow! such an awesome and simple selection of the words to describe the massive subject of the spirituality in a few word, Brilliant stuff Bro Yahia.

Due to my language brier I did not get the point why the poet cowered himself in a darkened closet, even he had a firm belief in angels?

Because he/me was not truly inwardly ready to face the awesome Light ... One must have a pure heart to endure such spiritual power 🙏🏼

Good poems are often frail, weak almost. Not and substance and quality but in inner feelings they evoke. "Full of longing and terror", they are like that, and creatively so. Upvoted.

Interesting perspective...

You know, someone once said of me "wrażliwiec" in Polish (more or less "sensitive being" in English). And while it is not fully true, there is something it. And your poems are exactly "sensitive beings".

You have an unusual way of phrasing things. I wonder if it has to do with a language barrier, something lost in translation. But, I also know what you mean. Thank you, for your attention.

Who knows, really. Both my poems in Polish and my poems in English are called "hermetic". So, it is quite likely that my way of phrasing world out is hermetic in general. And i feel the words in very literal, flesh-like way, too.

In what sense?

Very wonderful feel this poetry 😊❤😊 Love the great words! Great rhythm

Glad you enjoyed poem (although there isn’t much rhythm to it :)

most welcome sir; i'm from india ❤

Congratulations, you have been featured in this week's Finder Frog Focus: Poetry Recap Post Our Recap of this weeks topic first published here.

Keep creating! We're looking forward to your next post.
If you don't appreciate this comment, reply to your post and tag @BuddyUp so we can remove it. If you want to know more about the BuddyUp community on Discord you can read about us in Safe Link Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68976.16
ETH 3307.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67