How to Make a Homemade 'Calzone' (in 7 pictures)

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

rqp1srs7ch.jpg
leaf flourish.png

So, around 8 months ago, my wife (a pizza addict) & I began experimenting with making pizza at home. I've shared, on Steemit, our adventures which you can see, here

Emboldened by the success of that, we got more ambitious and, just last night, attempted to make our first calzone -- basically, a pizza folded in half (before cooking) with stuffing -- think glorified hot pocket.

As with making a pizza, the joy of creating a calzone is that you can stuff it with whatever you like or happen to have in your kitchen, at the moment. I began by sauteing cubed chicken , as well as broccoli with onion:


broco.jpg


chicken.jpg


Next step was readying the dough (which, despite the deceiving picture of my man hands, is my wife's domain). Basically, it's the same as preparing a pizza, which is easier said than done, but I noticed that if you dust the dough, liberally, with flour it makes for easier handling. The base for my calzone consisted of tomato sauce mixed with pesto and, once chicken and broccoli were prepped, I added Parmesan & Swiss cheese on top of them.


dough.jpg


rqp1srs7ch.jpg


Now, came the truly tricky part... Carefully, fold dough over, using more flour helps (as it might be quite sticky) , and leave around one inch of a flap, which you can pinch with slightly moistened fingers, to seal the sides.

This is, more or less, what your edible beast should look like:


preoven.jpg


I got fancy and, as a last step before popping it into the oven, I lightly applied egg whites to the top & sprinkled more (Parmesan) cheese. Having preheated the oven to 500 degrees, I slipped my calzone in for 15 minutes and below, are the mouth-watering, golden-delicious results:


penultimate.jpg


final.jpg


Bon Appétit!

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Yum!! great idea! Think I'm going to first try with purchased pizza dough (whole foods sells) and then I'll venture into making my own since as you said, it's no small feat to make a good pizza dough.

Sorry if i was misleading... Handling & shaping the sticky dough is tricky, but we use store-bought pizza dough(from Trader Joe's). Good luck with it! It took us few times to get pizza just so, but that's part of the fun of it, too :)

Wow Mr Man Hands! Guessing your next best seller will be a cook book. You now have accomplished making me the hungriest guy on earth. Lol. Looks delicious!!!!!!!!!

Haha, I wish! I know my wife would, too (as she's trying to send me to cooking school) but, I'm still learning :) You should give this a try, it's not that hard to prepare.

Her intentions may be purely selfish ones.

I will definitely be trying this.

Haha, yer a funny guy, Brad... Bon Appétit

Mmmm I love calzones so much. You wouldn't think folding the pizza dough on itself would change the end result so much but I think they are actually quite a bit different from the open faced pizza. Looks delicious!

Always good to hear from you, Carl! Yes, a calzone is far more than just a pizza, folded. Wracking my mind for why this so, I came across these 10 good reasons, online, that you might agree with, too :) Much love, Yahia


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow yummy, yummy and testy my favourite one, your pizza made me hungry now. Really your foods photographs looking wonderful, great job sir, perfect dish.

Thanks, you should try it--it's really quite easy to make :)

Looks nice and yummy 😋

Thanks, it was a treat :)

Congratulations @yahialababidi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29