A stencil can say 1000 wordssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

The multitude of mural paintings in Naples is overwhelming. It doesn't really matter if the piece of wall they write and paint upon is part of a historical building or even statue. In spite of the fact that our hotel was placed right in the center of the Historical Area of the city, this attitude towards painting walls was not only present but also thriving over there.

s6tel0x87v.jpg

In order to get inside the hotel, you had to go on a narrow side alley, between two old, typical Italian buildings on which not even the light of day managed to get through completely. Though the atmosphere was interesting, especially for someone with a camera in his hands, looking to capture that Neapolitan flavor, the question marks about his own security would pop up fast in the mind.
So the view I had as I would come out of the hotel, either in order to leave or just to have a cigarette while having the breakfast coffee, was the opposite wall of this narrow alley, on which, this stencil stood.
So I had plenty of time analyzing it while having one-two cigarettes and I guess that it somehow applies very well with the spirit of Christmas... or at least it should give us the introspection we need during this day. Because this day it's not about us, it's about the other ones beside us. It is about "give and you shall receive".

I'm not a religious person but I do believe in the sphericty of things. After all that's what the Universe teaches us, each and every single day: that it moves in total chaos based on some rules that make everything be very "round". This can also be scaled down, to history, to society, to the individual person. Things repeat themselves in infinite forms and at the level of our society, we forget to think as a species in the majority of cases, valuing our own individuality more than anything else. Never thinking about the bigger cog that is in motion and we are moving together with it...

Funny thing how we started our species in caves, communicating through cave wall paintings; now, after so many milleania of evolution, after getting painting, as an art, so complex, after inventing photography in order to transmit more information, we stop and stare at a very simple piece of drawing, made on the walls of our modern caves by other fellow humans. And it can say so much with so little...

Sort:  

I didn't have time to read yesterday... I wish I didn't today either - now I'm going to have to hate you, as I hate everybody who has better weather or does anything I might like to do... Naples is one of the cities I love... and I don't know when I'll get to see it again...
Love the idea of the cave paintings.

Haha, don’t worry about it. This is a photo I took back in August :) I’m in Ploiesti and it looks just as bad as u’d think.

funny thing, when i seen the photo on the feed i also thought about cave paintings.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha :) it means my cropping worked just fine

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 76 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71