Marcasite Rods, Golden Scalenohedral Calcite & Double-Terminated Quartz on Pink Dolomite from Niagara Falls, New York, USA

in #esteem7 years ago

Hi All,

Here's a new specimen from New York State that I just acquired for my collection, which I thought I would share with everyone. This specimen features iridescent Marcasite rods, golden scalenohedral Calcite & double-terminated gwm clear Quartz on pink Dolomite from LaFarge's Lockport Quarry in Niagara Falls, Niagara County, New York, USA. This locality is not widely collected, and specimens from here are fairly uncommon, especially nicer combination specimens such as this one. The presence of the tiny Marcasite rods throughout are a rare addition as well, as they are not commonly found.



Pic #1 - Overall view of the specimen

image

Pic #2 - Closeup view of the center of the specimen

image

Pic #3 - Another closeup view of the specimen, which focuses on the gemmy quartz and saddle-shaped dolomite crystals, and also shows a stubby marcasite rod to the left of the pic.

image

Pic #4 - Another closeup view of the specimen, which focuses on the gemmy quartz and saddle-shaped dolomite crystals.

image

Pic #5 - A more magnified closeup view of the specimen, which focuses on one of the nicer marcasite rods which is nestled under a golden calcite crystal.

image

Pic #6 - An even more magnified closeup view of the specimen, which focuses on one of the nicer marcasite rods and illustrates the beautiful iridescence of the marcasite crystals.

image

Pic #7 - A closeup view of the specimen, which focuses on one of the golden calcite crystals.

image


Thanks for looking at my mineral specimen pictures! I hope that you enjoyed them, and maybe even learned a bit about rocks and minerals in the process!


Please upvote and comment below if you have any questions or would like to discuss further. Also follow me for more rock and minerals, memes and general random thoughts of the day!

Best,

@therockman

Sort:  

Nice :D That's a cool looking specimen, i'm a bit jealous.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it! I jumped on it when I saw it, since it's so difficult to get nice specimens from more obscure localities like this, and I absolutely love the marcasite rods in particular!

Minerals and crystals in particular have always interested me, I have some knowledge of different types, but pretty basic. I have a small collection of full structure crystal (i.e quartz and amethyst "wands"), and then an array of large tumble stones. MY favourite specimen is however an iron nickel meteorite :D

I've always loved rocks and minerals, but I've gotten into them very heavily over the last 5 years or so. My house looks like a museum at this point!

I have a few smaller meteorite pieces, and I particularly like the ones that have the Widmanstätten patterns in them. That's basically just a fancy name for patters like this that form in the internal structure of some metallic meteorites, which forms a crosshatched pattern when you slice them.

Images © wikimedia

Nice :) Yeah these I like a lot. I have presented a work shop on meteorites with the museum so have a fairly good knowledge of the types. It's interesting how the cooling process of individual octahedrites is understood by the the pattern.

If you're interested i wrote an article a few weeks back about them.

Take care dude.

Cool! I'll definitely give it a look tonight after work, or over the weekend! I know far less about meteorites than I do about rocks and minerals!

I Like This Post. That's Very Amazing!

In my life, it was the first time I saw this thing.

This post has received a 6.12 % upvote from @boomerang.

Amazing rocks

This post has received a 33.33% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @therockman. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

You got a 15.17% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @therockman!

Thanks for using Bid Voting Bot @allaz service and Steem Upvote Bot Tracker
I want to introduce you to my new friend @monsterbit in order to give additional thanks!
Do you know who is @monsterbit is? My friend, you can miss a lot. I highly recommend checking him with introduceyourself. He is going to hold interesting contests with cash prizes and promises to tell a lot of interesting stories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85