HOMEMADE TOFU (step-by-step photorecipe)

in #esteem6 years ago

TOFU is one of the most famous kinds of cheese in the world.

**There're definite reasons for it: **

  • it's a great source of vegetable protein, so vegans and other people with healthy diets respect it very much
  • it's easy to find, or easy to make at home, and its price is rather low
  • it's a universal addition to any kind of dishes because it has no definite smell or taste, so it has take any taste of other ingridients in a dish.

psohsnsjfz.jpg

To tell you the truth, I've never tasted tofu before.
But some days ago I saw it in the shop, it was calling me;))
Oh, at last I'll try it - I thought.

But, as my followers know, I'm a fan of handmade things and homemade food.
So I've decided to make it by myself.

The recipe I found was so easy and fast! Just the same like doing ordinary cheese from cow milk (one of variants).

So WHAT DO WE NEED?

  • soy milk (or soybeans to make this milk)
  • a lemon

3nq5yvwz1g.jpg

That's it!

  1. At first we boil soy milk, just to make it hot to be ready to transform vegetable protein into tofu.

wyv9sdobqe.jpg

  1. Then we add lemon juice into it (for 1 liter of milk - about 2-3 spoons of juice)

  2. Lemon acid starts to react with milk at once.
    In some minutes we'll see the result - coagulated protein, that is almost ready tofu!

  3. We strain milk through the cheesecloth

l2yjo72uba.jpg

  1. Then we tie the cheesecloth very tightly and wait for some hours.

  2. READY!
    So fast and so easy!

qfg6r6guu5.jpg

By the way, tofu in the shop costs 5$ for 200g.

We've got the same weight from 1 liter of soy milk, it costs only 1,5$

Pure saving money;)

Do you like tofu?
What recipes do you use it in?
Have you tried this homemade tofu?

Sort:  

о, класс) ты умничка что сама делаешь) я люблю тофу)
пару раз даже сама делала с лимоном / лимонной кислотой, но он у меня больше на творог был похож и ела его с ягодами)
а в магазине он такой плотный) но с хлористым кальцием фиг знает что оно такое)))

вроде хлористый невредный, из него и магазинного творога много делают, его даже детям советуют, мол кальция больше там.
а мне не понра тофу вообщееее. ни вкус, ни запах, не мое это)

я пока не очень доверяю не органике)
у тофу ни вкуса ни запаха, но он впитывает это всё от других ингредиентов) мне нравится плотная магазинная консистенция, чем-то на грибы и белок яичный мне смахивает)

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of Here Comes The News on MSP Waves Radio.

Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


So, did you enjoy it, or was it not what you expected? I have never tried tofu either!

no, I didn't;))
it was awful-))
I liked only the process, but as far as I hadn't tasted it before, I didn't know the taste of it, and it appeared to be not tasty at all;)
soy smell isn't my passion for sure;))

do you like it?

I've never tried it either, but to tell you the truth, I would prefer to just eat cheese because I don't want to import Soy products, when I can eat local.

yes, I try to avoid import products as well
local ones aren't always natural too, but at least..

don't try it;)
it's not tasty))

I will take your word for it Angel SiSTAR!!! <3 <3 <3

I hate tofu, but gave you an upvote nevertheless :-)

My wife sometimes make quark (творог) in roughly the same way - except, as the milk is already sour there is no need to add lemon.

haha, actuallyn now I understand that I hate it too;))
I like the process of making but I don't like its taste;)
soy isn't my food for sure:)

yes! I know this method to make quark.
is it correct to say quark? I've found a translation "cottage cheese", is it wrong?
I often make kefir (sour milk) with the help of special bacteria (bought in pharmacies), and then I make quark with the help of lemon juice, just the same;)

yes! I know this method to make quark.
is it correct to say quark? I've found a translation "cottage cheese", is it wrong?

I know nothing about "quark", just some word I found through Google.

To me, cottage cheese looks and tastes quite the same as творог, but my wife claims it's something completely different. "Cottage cheese" is sold in shops in Norway, with the English name.

Thank you very much! Very simple way to make tofu!!

Cheers.

thank you!it's very easy;)

Повезло Вашим родным Вами. Мало того, что Вы экономны, так еще разными вкусностями балуете. 2 лучших качества женщины в одном человеке.:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53