My ArtVenture: Watercolor painting "At home by Inspector Barnaby"

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Heelo my dear Steemians,



So yesterday was the day of update, we have now Hardfolk 20. That reminded me a "Terminator" movie when everybody was waiting for the Skynet, but the day when it came online everything was destroyed. Of course it is not so bad scenario, but there were moments of shocks, people could not post and whales felt themselves like minnows whose posts reached less then 1,0$ and no comment. But for minnows this is normal condition, that they see everyday so now many can imagine how it is.

I have no idea if my posting will drain out completely my SP, but if we do not try we do not know. So my friends, let's go back on poasting.

My Watercolor painting.



In my recent post I mentioned that I bought a Watercolor paper, this time it was textured, 300 gsm heavy, I decided to give another go for my watercolor skills. It is like a pain for me, I love watercolor but I always have to struggle with it, I try to be very careful and pay attention to everything but my heart is crying when I see something that should not be there.

So back to my Experiment with watercolor. Yesterday I was watching my favorite movie, actually it is a series of movies "Inspector Barnaby", I love hte idyllic town Causton in Midsommer County, there are many things attract me in this series such as story in first instance, also the music, that specific music that you immediately recognise, this is almost the same like for "Indiana Jones" or Star Wars", "Star Trek" with their music, the same is hte music in "Inspector Barnaby"



Watercolor painting "At home by Inspector Barnaby" by @Stef1

fgdn2t24w9.jpg

I also love the houses, many of them quite old, Victoria, Edwardian or in Tudor style, of course the antique furniture, old cars. I love these simple cottages with thatched roofs, therefore I wanted to present you my work that reminds my my favorite movie.



My step-by-step process:

My first pencil sketch, I know that watercolor paper does not like graphite and eraser, thereforel very like sketch and already the first layers of colors. Actually I was upset with what I had, I thought it is too much but the bad thing with watercolor you can't easily correct. C'est la vie

6r11opa2tn.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

The next was to do greens, I just use every possible colors to do hedge, it is autumn so we have all palette of colors :)

ktsicaavkh.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

didnze0qty.jpg

The next step is the sandstones, I learnt that for the colors already used for surroundings should reflect in the walls, so here it is, actually looking not really right, it was a moment when I had internal battle between to destroy my painting and bin it or just keep going. I decided to keep going.

jsli7g4632.png

I decided to go back to greens that was the best and easily done so a little bit of nature :)

z7umxseivb.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

At this stage I could not face the wall of house and decided to do more distinct stone shapes and some shadowing to give 3d effect :) I love my chimney, that was also easy part.

2cqidwlvu4.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

At last of course the main character my favorite thatched roof and a gate, so

Voila and welcome to Midsummer cottage

Watercolor painting "At home by Inspector Barnaby" by @Stef1

fgdn2t24w9.jpg

Your humble servant @stef1 and today's date 25.09.18

Watercolor textured paper 30.5x40.5 cm, paper weight 300 gsm, watercolors colors in pans and tubes, flat and round brushes.

jsli7g4632.png



Test-1ab.jpg


DSC01062.jpg


hf9bijdca2.png


I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

Really nice painting. I love the softness from the watercolors and numerous details which you painted on it. Just beautiful... And keep up the good work. We will figure out how the new system will work. But everything needs time. Like my voting power which will apparently recharge in 83 hours. We will see. Have a pleasant rest of the day.

Thank you, I really appreciate you for viewing my post and taking time for such wonderful comment. I agree with you it needs time to settle, once everything is stabilized we will be back to normal routine Steeming. I can imagine with your Upvote power, that happened to me, but I already heard from guys yesterday who were able to posts and of course that was a shock for them. I wish you a nice rest of the week :)

Really nice piece of art. Well done :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much for your nice comment and I am glad you like my hard work :)

You have been featured on @artzone.

Courtesy of @gbija

Such a beautiful piece, @stef1 !! The stone house and its sprawling green foliage ! Oh, so idyllic and wonderfully serene <3 I love this very much !

Steemit is a bit quieter after HF20 but if we keep up our normal behaviours ... maybe it will help it normalize also? :) Let's keep up the positivity \o/!

Beautiful work!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

🎉 Congratulations @stef1! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

A lovely painting of a house. I can certainly imagine looking at this picture in a nice frame at someone's wall. Those walls are my favourite part in this one, you drew really nice bricks, Stef :D.
                           

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

We all survived HF at the end :) I love inspector Barnaby!! I've never been to any villages in the UK but I can imagine this is exactly how all of them look like. Your painting is very nice. I like the wide road which leads into the greenery. It somehow looks mysterious which fits the theme perfectly! :)

Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77