Short trip to Berlin

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

I try posting from esteem ...

Last night of a short trip to Berlin - first time I set foot here since May 1989 (when I landed in Berlin - Ost and did a short organized visit of a few hours of which I kept almost no memories ...)

image
Marienkirche and the famous TV tower behind. First picture when stepping put of the bus from Tegel airport.

image
Berliner Rathaus - nearby. Weather was a bit grey.

image
Bernauer Straße on the demarcation line between East and West Berlin. A kind of wall memorial is visible as is the no-man's land

image
Menu of the oldest restaurant in Berlin "Zur letzten Instanz", established 1621. Recommended

image
Picture from one of the bridges linking Fischerinsel with the city

image
Berlin by night from the upper floor bar of a hotel.

Interesting city, young, smart, dynamic. The legacy is visible - a bit grey, in need of sprucing up.

Was here mostly with business, not as a tourist and with grey, moist, cold weather. Not the best period of the year (early March). Among the people I had the privilege to meet during this trip was @smcaterpillar, the author of the @trufflepig.

Definitely a city to come back to during summer for a longer stay.

In case you wonder - all the pictures are originals taken with my now quite old Samsung Galaxy Note 4.




Sort:  

Great pics! I'd love to visit Berlin. The restaurant made me so curious that I had to look it up.

Thanks for posting! I followed you so that I can keep up with future posts from you. :)

Thank you. I've tasted the "pickled pork brawn" (appetizer) which Romanians will recognize as very similar to our "piftie", although without the garlic which makes the German variety not only more "social" but also easier on the stomach ... I guess the Romanian recipe had to add garlic in order to keep vampires at bay ! :-)

Nice! I love Berlin by night.

Follow, I follow back, let's support each other 😊

I would love to visit Berlin. Lovely photos.

Thank you. I'm not a "pro" though, I never carry a proper camera, shooting exclusively with my phone.

If I ponder, I would only go to Berlin with some kind of "pursuit" - whether to meet someone or to visit specific things (like the Tiergarten with kids or the museums). But to relax and let yourself be surprised by a beautiful city I would recommend the Netherlands. Amsterdam is gorgeous but Eidhoven and Den Haag are also very, very beautiful cities

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50