You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wanted To Downvote Someone Today, But Decided Not To: My Downvoting Rules

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

You don't go on Steem to attack someone for messaging you on Discord anyway. I've only ever downvoted spam and abuse.

Also, it makes perfect sense to me that a newbie would just want a direct answer. If I'm about to make a post on Steem and I've got it all ready and then run into an issue I message people to try to figure it out. I don't use that time to cultivate relationships if I was trying to solve my problem, as would anyone.

People asking for upvotes is really annoying but yes if they do it on your post, that is spam. If they ask you on discord, it's because you provided access to your discord via Steem somewhere otherwise how did they find you? (that's your choice).

Ideally everyone is respectful, but the least we can do is help the newbies rather than give them a lesson on manners.

Sort:  

@xabi, although the lady can be annoying for being so direct on discord, we cannot downvote her for that matter. Like what @scottcbusiness said, we should only downvote spam and abuse. Hmmm, although I admit I downvoted annoying comments in the past lol. Never again.

Yes...that's why I say, "no downvoting for personal reasons".

Like you said it's annoying... Getting asked for upvote... And yeah I got angry... But giving her the benefit of being a newbie, I didn't downvote her...
I translated the conversation in English. Her tone (in urdu) was quite annoying and disrespectful... I wish I could lay it out for you...
When you ask for some one's help, least you can do is be respectful...
images (3).jpeg
PS
Somethings always get lost in translation.

No I fully understand that it wasn't respectful however, the most common standard on Steemit would be that you would never take an issue outside of Steemit (discord) and then bring it to steem and punish them here to get revenge. Like I had someone downvote me for a memo I sent on my post which was widely appreciated so people lashed out at him for attacking me outside of where the issue was. Your issue must be with the post that you downvote

Well said... I couldn't have said it better...

That's why I don't judge a post by getting personal... My Rule # 1

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your precious thoughts... APPRECIATED.
Will be visiting your blog... Followed.

ey cheers :) Followed you too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84