Queen of the Night

in #esteem5 years ago

t0rr4cod75.jpg

Queen of the Night, a.k.a Epiphyllum Oxpetalum, a.k.a Night Blooming Cereus Cactus

My Queen of the Night bloomed again. There were two blooms this time.

I am always very happy to see them bloom. I am so proud of them. You see, there is a story behind this pot of Queen of the Night. Some of you may remember the story. If you have forgotten,let me refresh your memory, and also for the benefit of the new comers.

They were just a couple of dying twigs/leaves when I planted them. I know they are hardy things, but they were so off, I wasn’t sure if they will survive. Anyhow, I thought I would just stick them in the pot and see what happens. Imagine by surprise when they not only survived, but grew to be very healthy, and had since rewarded me with many blooms.

aeob7udxyj.jpg
This was the bud about three days before the bloom .

1vh31g1k09.jpg
This is the bud at half past six in the evening. At this time, they will begin to bloom.

bhs3sxoi2y.jpg
This is the bloom at almost night.

re1ug9sbl2.jpg

1jtxgrinej.jpg

8fuqlw3wrr.jpg

After midnight, the blooms will begin to fade. One night only – that is the life spend of the Queen of the Night. Short-lived, but what a beautiful flower. The flowers have a strong fragrant which I like very much. Very nice indeed.

If you are interested to know more about the Queen of the Night, have a look at the video.

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

Previous post: -

On Life

Sort:  

These are beautiful.
2 of my many passions in life are photography and gardening. This mixes well. You've done an amazing job documenting the lifespan of this amazing cactus. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @alliski for your kind words. Photography and gardening are noble passions. I am sure you derived a lot of pleasure, satisfaction and inspiration from both. Have a great weekend.

What an amazing plant! I had never heard of this before, and now I think I need to get one! I'm so glad yours survived and is blooming. It's so beautiful!

Thank you @goat-girlz. They will thrive well in open areas. A pot, in my opinion is a bit restrictive for them.

I hope that things are not too hectic and you are able to take a little break over the weekend.

Queen of the night might be one of the most unusual flowers I've ever heard about. Thank you. It looks like it grows out of the leaf not the stem.

You are welcome. Indeed, the flower grows from the leaf, not the stem. That is another unusual thing about it. :-)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteenapp for your support.

Howdy sir Vincent! what a magnificent flower! wow. But it only blooms for one night? And then what, the flower dies? Does that make sense?

One night only. The flower is dead in the morning. It doesn't have to make sense. That is life. :-)

but that's no fair sir Vincent! That beautiful of a flower and it only lasts one night? who designed it that way anyway? lol.

Sometimes good people die young too. Is that fair? It's not fair nor unfair. Such is life. It is not the length of life but the quality of life that matters.:-)

howdy sir Vincent! yes, life is not fair at all because of ...well I won't get into that you can thank me. lol...but the quality yes..you nailed that one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44