Noka

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to #SublimeSunday, a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy, initiated by @c0ff33a ☕️

And also #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

IMG20190831183738.jpg

I chanced upon this restaurant in Funan Mall recently. I didn’t dine there though. The prices are quite beyond what I am willing to pay for a meal. All the same, I thought I would do a post on it.

The name Noka means farmhouse in Japanese. Noka by Open Farm Community at Funan Mall is Singapore’s first rooftop urban farm-to-table Japanese restaurant. It is an open-concept kitchen and restaurant, where they focus on locally sourced, seasonal and innovative dishes. The also ‘curate and host local farmers to showcase there produce to guests,to deepen the pleasures of simple, freshly harvested ingredients that are both nourishing and a visual feast.’ - Source

NOKA is located in the redeveloped Funan Mall. It occupies the rooftop level of the mall, and it is Singapore’s first rooftop urban farm-to-table Japanese restaurant, beside the urban farm area managed by Edible Garden City. It is also the sister restaurant to Open Farm Community in Dempsey.

Apparently, there are more than 50 types of fruits, flowers, herbs and vegetables grown on the rooftop farm – all pesticide free, of course.

The menu is hugely Japanese inspired, paired with local ingredients and as much as possible, farm-to-table ingredients from the adjacent urban farm.

For those who are interested to take a look. Here’s the address, and their opening hours.

7 Days | Lunch 11:30AM — 2:30PM | Dinner 6PM — 10PM
#07-38 FUNAN (Lift Lobby A), 109 North Bridge Road, Singapore, 179097
Tel: +65 6877 4878 | Reservations: http://noka.sg

It is certainly an interesting idea. But I am thinking, it must me quite an investment to grow their own ingredients. Their prices, at a glance, I suppose is reasonable, if you take into consideration the work on the farm. And the space on the rooftop, I am not sure what is the arrangement, but that, surely, must also be costly. Anyway, we shall see.

I had a quick walk around the rooftop and here are some of the herbs/spices/vegetables/fruits I saw.

IMG20190831183314.jpg

IMG20190831183552.jpg

I don't know what are these plants.
IMG20190831183241.jpg

Lemon grass
IMG20190831183226.jpg

Chilli padi
IMG20190831183406.jpg

Banana trees on the left, and papaya trees on the right. I don't know what the purple/green leaf plants in the foreground are called. I believe they are some sort of herbs. I remember my mum used to boil them in water, add some sugar to it to take off the bitter taste, and gave us to drink. It is supposedly 'cooling' for the body.
IMG20190831183533.jpg

Pandan Leaves
IMG20190831183633.jpg

Pomegranate
IMG20190831183646.jpg

Limes
IMG20190831183701.jpg

Okra aka Ladies Fingers in the middle. In the front are mints. Don't know about those on top of the ledge.
IMG20190831183716.jpg

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow me if you like to read about Life, humour and quotes.
Cheers!

Previous post:

Wacky Humour

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wouldn't it make sense for every restaurant to do that. I would think they could afford to hire a gardener just to grow all their fresh herbs and some of their vegetables on the rooftop.

I think it is not as easy as that. Otherwise they would have done it. 😊

You must be right!

hmmm.... I heard they have a farm but I didn't know they have it as a supply chain to a restaurant there.

I think that is the whole idea from the farm on the rooftop to the restaurant. I think they are using that as a selling point. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58784.30
ETH 2574.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46