Moth Orchids

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to #SublimeSunday, a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy, initiated by @c0ff33a ☕️

And also #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

IMG20190920153002.jpg

While wandering about town on Friday, my friends and I wandered into a building. What I saw in the foyer took my breath away. The Orchids in the foyer looked divine. I had to have a feel to assure myself that they were real Orchids. I am sure whatever the shops in the building are selling are also real expensive.

Google ID the Orchids as Moth Orchids, and this is what Wikipedia said of the Orchid.

Phalaenopsis amabilis, commonly known as the moon orchid or moth orchid in India and as anggrek bulan in Indonesia, is a species of flowering plant in the orchid family Orchidaceae, native to the East Indies and Australia, and widely cultivated as a decorative houseplant. - Wikipedia

IMG20190920153028.jpg

IMG20190920153043.jpg

The foyer is quite long and there are beds and beds of these gorgeous Orchids.
IMG20190920153011.jpg

IMG20190920153121.jpg

IMG20190920153100.jpg

IMG20190920153152.jpg

IMG20190920153138.jpg

#photography

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow me if you like to read about Life, humour and quotes.
Cheers!

Previous post:

An Evening Out

Sort:  

I've seen those big white ones in some malls (I think ION Orchard) and some office have them too.

They are awesome. They look so fake, I have to feel them to be sure they are actually real flowers. 😊

These Moth Orchids are quite breathtaking Vince,

Very nice captures.

I've been lucky with the plants in my home, and next on my list is indeed flowers. I guess we'll see if I can continue this luck streak. Tomorrow is the first day of fall here, so I think I should wait until spring, but it seems like a challenge, and will force me to sing more. (plants like it when you sing to them.)

Maybe I'll try some marigolds, they are easy enough.

Have a nice Sunday friend :)

Thank you Jake. Good luck with your flowers. That's an idea worth taking up. Try something that doesn't need a lot of attention, and then take it from there.
Have a great day ahead! 😊

Those are spectacular! I have never tried to grow orchids. They intimidate me.

Thank you @goat-girlz. 😊
I inherited an Orchid plant from a friend when he had to move overseas. I was so happy when it bloomed. My first Orchid plant, and bloom. I didn't have to do a lot with it. Just leave it where there is sunlight, and water it often.
9a4o4mol6d.jpg
There was only four flowers, but I am happy with that - it being a first bloom. 😊

I remember your post about your orchid blooming! As I recall, you missed it because you were out of town. That doesn't seem fair. My problem with indoor plants is remembering to water them. And the cats like to knock things over...

You have got a good memory. I am impressed. 😊 Oh well, I will catch it the next time it bloomed.
Yes, it can be problematic to be growing plants indoors, if you have cats.

Ha ha! Here's a quote for your next collection. Dorothy Parker once said "Women and elephants never forget."

Thank you. Much appreciated. Added to my collection. 😊

These orchids are amazing, I love the best the yellow ones with pink tongues 😋

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, they contrast beautifully. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87