Cafes and Restaurants in Benalmadena

in #esteem5 years ago

I remember reading somewhere, recently that not including the eateries on the Costa del Sol promenade, there are over a thousand small cafes and restaurants in Benalmadea. I can believe that. I have noted in an earlier post that if I were to dine out every night, at the restaurants within walking distance from me, I would not be able to dine in all of them in a year.

So, you can imagine how competitive the cafe and restaurant business are. These eateries come and go. No sooner had one closed, another one is opened. In the three years that I have been coming here, some places has changed hands more than three times. And these are just some of the ones that I am aware of because I had walked past them at some point. I am sure there are many others that I do not know of.

Cafe Oasis is new. It was a Swedish cafe last year.
1a.jpg

There used to be a Italian restaurant, a British restaurant, and two bars in this block. The Italian restaurant was there since I first visited Benalmadena. It is still there. The British restaurant Gwen's Place has closed. So has the Pride Bar next to it. The bar at the end took over from another bar last year. So far, they seemed to be doing all right because there are always a few people in when I passed by.
1b.jpg

The Anytime Bar is British owned and has been around since I first visited. I don't think they are doing exceptionally well, but they do have their regulars. Sometimes, they have quizz contest in the afternoons. That attracts a few people.
1.jpg

Just some examples of cafes and restaurants in the area, and how competitive the business is. These places are not very obvious, and they do not get much passing trade. You have to either live in the area, or heard of them through friends. I guess that's where they lose out. Maybe their purpose was just to cater to the locals in the neighbourhood.

For the foreign owned, it is quite possible that they just want something to do here, and to make some money to supplement their retirement fund, but nothing too stressful. In which case, something like The Anytime Bar would be ideal. Just a thought.

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!
Previous post: -

Meson la Espiga

Sort:  

Maybe you should leave the thinking to the professionals sir Vincent. Just a thought. Hey what about that British couple, have you been back to that place and if not, why not? Some loyalty there, you enjoy their company but don't want to support their business? What planet are you from again??

Howdy Jonboy. We dine at the Unicorn once, sometimes twice a week. Sometimes, on our way home from dinner, if it is still early, we will drop by the Unicorn for a drink. Is that loyalty enough for you? 😊 Surely you will get sick of me always mentioning them right. Duh! 😎

Howdy again sir Vincent! No, I think you should name your posts something about hanging out at the Unicorn and then just go there every day.. lol.. Yes, that's loyal enough, I'm glad to hear it. That would be my favorite place too. Although the food is a little bit generic. lol.

Howdy Jonboy. I am happy to hear that you approved. 😊

Me too. It doesn't happen that often. lol. just teasing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60871.89
ETH 2724.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43