Start by showing up.

in #esteem5 years ago

0tkh96hldx.png
source


Sometimes it's just about showing up. Those days where you don't want to leave the comfort or security of your house. When you have somewhere to be but don't have the motivation. Sometimes it's just about taking that first step towards it and then keep moving.

I work in a job with early starts. I've just come off 8 days in a row where the starting time was 5am. It's not an easy thing to do setting the alarm for 4am and having the motivation to leave the bed. Especially in the depths of winter when the room is freezing and you are secure in a nice warm bed. That piercing alarm in your ear when it feels like you have just closed your eyes. The hardest part is the start of the day when you open your eyes and making that decision to get up and face the day.

It's the same for a night out, for an activity, for anything that you want to achieve. i want to achieve financial freedom and for now that job is part of it. The end goal is to have enough passive income that I won't have to turn up every day for a job that I don't enjoy. Not that I don't enjoy parts of it or it wouldn't be worth it but getting up at 4am and working weekends is not where I want to be in the future. So I turn up. I set my alarm, get out of bed and clock in. I earn my wages, pay my bills and set up investments. It's all part of the long term thinking and hoping to set myself up for the future.

The same goes for STEEM. I love the blockchain, i love the activities that I can do here and with more coming every month I am looking long term at my investment. So I turn up. I log in, blog, game, discord, promote and whatever else comes up during the day. It's my long term vision. I would love to get to the stage of building up SP to the point that I could earn a living from using it for delegations and activity. Living off the earnings that it generates.

A lot of people don't seem to have it though. When things aren't going right they throw a tantrum. They rage and shout, abuse and tell everybody else why they're wrong to turn up before dramatically leaving forever. It might seem like the thing to do but when has this ever improved a situation. When has raging and screaming about it ever led to results. Not to my knowledge. Instead you need to decide that you want to urn up firstly. Then you can see what the next step is. Where it can be improved and how we can move forward towards the end goal.

We will be seeing a lot of changes coming in the near future and I for one don't know how they will turn out. I'm not sure of how they will affect the blockchain so all I can do is cast my witness votes in the direction of those who I think have the best interests of the chain at heart. How that works will remain to be seen even if I think it's a bit too much all at the one time. We have fixes to make but a complete overhaul is a risk that could destroy what we have built to here. I've turned up, had my say on different witness blogs and cast my votes where they may so all I can do now is roll with it and re adjust after the next fork.

Either way I will be here in five years time. What that will look like is a complete mystery at this stage and sure to be a radically different platform but I will still turn up and engage.

If you have a goal in life or something that you want to do then the first step is going to be turning up. After that it's about how far you want to push towards it. Every step leads to the next one and the next one leads to the end goal.




0p2eczmztu.png




xpuakyq8vu.png

Sort:  

Great perspective as everything we do, no matter where we do it, is part of building our most valuable asset, ourselves and the human capital it creates for our futures. Being present is the foundation in all efforts!

Posted using Partiko iOS

And you need to put the work in if you want to be successful. Look at any of the people doing well in there field and they will tell you how many hours they logged to get there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah what strikes me is that some people go mad and they don't know the first thing of what's involved in running a business like this platform. If it isn't working then we need to fix it and if an increase in curation percentage gets more people active in here then it is great for all of us in the long term .

Posted using Partiko Android

There are some of the witnesses that know a lot more than me and that I've seen doing a lot for the chain. All I can do is hope they know what's best going forward and that this will help. The technical side goes well above my head. Either way I'll still be here grinding.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes we always wait for the motivation to come from others before we can do what we have been longing to do not knowing that the real motivation is within us. We can motivate ourselves to do whatever we desire to do.

Just like you said....just one step forward

Exactly. Just start by showing up and see where you can go from there. Every time you move forward it's closer to your goal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi, @niallon11!

You just got a 28.47% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.672 which ranks you at #1630 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1626).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 165 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70