Season Challenge - First of March

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

We said goodbye to February and welcomed March with the hope for better days.

Today, on first of March my country Bulgaria celebrates Baba Marta (Granny Marta). This is a very much beloved holiday when everyone is giving and receiving martenitza, a kind of adornment made of white and red strings in different shapes and forms. The tradition is very old and our neighbouring countries have similar. Closest perhaps is the Romanian tradition.

On this day we give as presents Martenitza to family members, friends, colleagues. In the past farmers were putting the strings like necklaces on the farm animals. The symbolic meaning is the wish of good health. March means spring and new beginning. The very first martenitzas were made of woolen strings and later elaborated into the male and female figures called Pizho and Penda like the picture below.

image

Nowadays one can find a huge variety of bracelets, necklaces, badges with additional coloured beads and ornaments embedded. Some are big enough to be hanged on the wall. Weeks before March 1st, you will see not only in the shops but on the streets people selling them, some being unique prepared by the sellers themselves.

The ones I chose for my mates in the office are:

image

image

For the girls bracelets with beads and for the boys only string bracelets.

image

We shall wear them until we see the first stork, then we shall place them on a tree branch or under a stone.

You may ask why we call the holiday Granny Marta. March is believed to be the only female month. In Bulgarian folkore it is represented as an old woman, hence Granny Marta. Like women tending to change their temper quickly, March can change instantly from sunny and warm to snowy and windy. Old people used to say - Do not mess with Granny Marta, she may turn ugly. Just for fun women choose a day from the month. If the day is bright, sunny, warm, so is the person chosen that day. But, if the day is cold with rain or worse with blizzards, then that pesron is pretty much bad-tempered. 😉

When we arrived at work, we got martenitza at the entrance. Human resources like every year bought them for each employee and worker.

Then in the office I gave the ones I bought and received these ones from my colleagues.

image

Now I have on my both wrists many bracelets. 😀


This post is for #Seasonchallenge created by @roxy-cat and @erikah - I am sure you have lovely Mărțișor holiday!

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
🌐eSteem.app | 👨‍💻GitHub | 📺YouTube
✍🏻 Telegram | 💬Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Sort:  

Честита Баба Марта :)

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

Well happy March and wishing good health and a lovely warm spring :)

Thank you my dear friend 😀
Health is the most important.

So true my friend ...have a lovely weekend :)

I'm amazed to learn about your traditions that are so similar to ours. We do have mărțișor and our Old Dochia (this tempered lady is affecting the first days of March with her mood). What day did you choose? I'm going with 7th of March and I hope it will be really sunny and warm (a good day means a happy year).
Thank you for this wonderful entry, my dear. 😘

I first learned about your tradition when I was in Romania in March some years ago and seeing my colleagues there wearing the same marthenitzas like us. They told me about it and I was surpised about the similarities.

Yes, our traditions are very similar. I'm wondering if they originate from the same source. 🤔
It worth investigating. 🙂

It is worth investigating. But again the traditions of each country got something unique.

I'm finally here to comment on your blog. I knew you have this tradition as there was another Bulgarian steemian who posted about it last year. She's not active any more unfortunately. And you posted about it as well and I guess that's how I met you, lucky me! 😍
This year I was thinking about you and hoping you'd post about this and here's your wonderful post 😀
As you already know, we have a pretty similar spring welcoming tradition, we give and receive similar symbols.
I'm doing a series of posts about it because I had the opportunity to visit the craft market and took a lot of photos. It's going to be excellent for MarketFriday.
I'm also planning to make a post about similarities and differences between the two cultures 😀
I enjoyed reading your post about this wonderful tradition. Have a nice weekend, ir I guess I told you that already in my last comment minutes ago but no problems, better twice than never, right? 😁

I am going to see yoir blog, as I missed it. We have really similarities that do not end with celebrating the spring only. It would be very much interesting to see what you will discover. By the way i saw on our TV about one of your Mărțișori markets. 😀

Thanks Erika again for your support.

We are next door neighbours, which makes these similarities possible. Now that you mentioned that this is not the only similarly, it would be s great idea to write about our celebrations and do a comparison. What do you think? 😀
I'm glad our Martisori market was shown in your TV.

I am going to search more information about our common holidays and to share what I will find.
But first I have some idea about 8th of March.

I'm finally here to comment on your blog. I knew you have this tradition as there was another Bulgarian steemian who posted about it last year. She's not active any more unfortunately. And you posted about it as well and I guess that's how I met you, lucky me! 😍
This year I was thinking about you and hoping you'd post about this and here's your wonderful post 😀
As you already know, we have a pretty similar spring welcoming tradition, we give and receive similar symbols.
I'm doing a series of posts about it because I had the opportunity to visit the craft market and took a lot of photos. It's going to be excellent for MarketFriday.
I'm also planning to make a post about similarities and differences between the two cultures 😀
I enjoyed reading your post about this wonderful tradition. Have a nice weekend, ir I guess I told you that already in my last comment minutes ago but no problems, better twice than never, right? 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67