Technology and Me 1.0

in #esteem5 years ago

It is no accident that I found myself in the field of computer science. I have always been fascinated by computers and electronics. When I was younger, I got into so much trouble for dismantling the family computers or my sibling’s phones. My family had to ban me from touching their electronics, although I always found a way around this.

The truth is I destroyed their stuff because I was curious on how computer programs work. As my knowledge in the field grew, so did my curiosity in software programming, IT support services and skills. I pursued a degree in Computer Science at the Bowen University in Nigeria, where I was exposed to theoretical experience in IT support services and skills, routine system, and solution maintenance.

Although my interest for computer and technology brought me to this field, being able to use my creativity and ingenuity to find solutions to problems is what has kept me in this field.

In my opinion, there are more people who are generally not interested in looking into their personal computers besides flipping it open and close(for laptops), for example,

I had an experience once with a client who purchased a laptop from where I worked at during a summer holiday job. The laptop was properly tested and cleared before the client departed from the shop but on getting home, the laptop won't come on. So I was the help desk technician at that time and all those kind of calls were passed to me. When the client related her ordeal to me, I could already imagine two scenarios that could have caused the incident, because I was sure the laptop was fine.

It was either the system wasn't receiving any power, or the RAM could have shaken out of place somehow. So I asked her first to double check the power source, with and without the battery in, and if she by any means had a little star screwdriver which she could use to open the casing that led to the RAM apartment, which she did, and following my instructions, she pushed the back cover open and told me a chip wasn't properly seated, because of my experience with computer systems I was able to tell it was the RAM, when she pushed it in as directed and closed the back cover, she turned on the system and it was fine, the client was glad she didn't have to come back all the way from her house and even more, developed interest in computer systems hardware, which led her to pursuing a career in computer engineering as she was really fascinated by the systems components she had never seen before, I mean who wouldn't be.

I did a six month industrial attachment in 2013. I worked with Omatek Computers, Nigeria. A computer hardware factory that specializes in systems hardware production, where I worked as a line manager which exposed me to the hardware components of the personal computers I saw everyday and how each part communicates with the other to form a complete system.

I also worked with a digital advertisements company where I improved my graphic and website design skills.

Over the years, my hunger for technology grew everyday which led me to finding out about a revolution, the blockchain, Steem blockchain.

Look out for my next post where I tell you about this astounding revolution, its applications and 20 reasons why it is the future of technology.

image
Source

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65