Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

As a Taino Native, i came here to show support for this indigenous post. 🖤

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Thanks, helpie!

This are amazing pictures dear. Part of the culture.These images reminded me of when I was in college and saw American culture and civilization

I'm glad you enjoyed them! 😘

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

You guys are the very best!

I'm glad Ms Frog 🐸 (@coquiunlimited) asked you for these photos
@melinda010100, upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks, Jerry.

Buenas noches amiga @melinda010100 deseo que se encuentre bien amiga, lindos recuerdos representados en esas fotos amiga, se ven muy lindas . Que tenga un feliz dormir amiga.

gracias Edgar! Espero que también tengas una buena noche de descanso.

Howdy Melinda! love the photos and that knife sheath with the bead work is really great!

Thank you. I gave almost all the beadwork I did away, so it was a pleasant surprise to see that knife sheath here in these old photos.

That's so awesome! And is that your friend who is Chippewa? That's one tribe I know nothing about. Were they farmers or hunter/gatherers?

Anishinabe tribes live all around the a Great Lakes and Canada. The women practiced farming and the men were the hunters and warriors.

Howdy today Melinda! I just got started on steemit for the day, been out mowing so of course I'm way behind again, how's it going with you?
Thanks for the information, so they weren't nomadic but they were both farmers and hunters, they had to be I guess. both, I mean. I bet they were also good fishermen.

I know they gathered wild rice that grows on the lake shores and they collected sap from the maple trees to make maple syrup. They are spearfisher men, and have battled with the state of Wisconsin in court and with local residents to protect their treaty rights so that they can continue to fish. Local fishermen are resentful that the Native Americans have more diverse fishing rights than they do and it has led to violence at the boat landings and people in big boats creating wakes around the smaller boats of the Native fishermen to try to disrupt the number of fish they are able to spear.

oh my gosh Melinda, what is wrong with people?? Or should I say us stupid white people?

Because the same thing happens in the Northwest on the Shoshone reservation where they
can hunt anytime and the local white hunters get all angry and threatening because the whites
can only hunt in seasons.

Dang, it's their land so they should be able to hunt and fish to feed their families whenever they
need to.

That's interesting that rice grows that far North though, I had no idea.

Excellent. We may count ourselves very distant cousins. I was able to trace back our first nation's ancestry to an Ojibwe woman in the mid 18th century. The sheath was lovely.

Thank you! My family lore has it that my distant many greats grandmother was Cherokee, but I have never been able to document that.

Native Americans costumes are really impressive and cool! So bright! And people are so happy at the photos 💛
What a great memories!

Posted using Partiko Android

Powwows are happy times with drumming, singing and dancing, and good food

Powwows are happy
Times with drumming, singing and
Dancing, and good food

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43