Travel tales

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Arriving in Greece, our first stay was at this lovely guest house in Nafplio. We had arrived in Athens well into the evening and not wanting to deal with a rental car, and in those days before GPS, finding our way out of the city when we were tired from the long flights, we had arranged for a car and a driver- who got terribly lost in Nafplio trying to find this place.

image

image

The rooms were simple, and the views were amazing!

image

image

image

image

To get into town there were a couple of steps....and after seeing the town and realizing how few streets actually climbed up to our guest house, we were able to forgive the poor lost driver for not being able to navigate around all the steps in his car.

!
image

From the breakfast terrace there were wonderful views of Palamidi Fortress.

image

image

The Venetians constructed the fortress in 1711 and it was added to by the Ottomans, after they conquered the city in 1715. The fortress gets its name from Palamedes, a Greek mythological hero of the Trojan War.

We spent a few days in Nafplio before we picked up our rental car and left on a tour of the Peloponnes Peninsula.



To enter this week's Shadow Contest

Shadow Photo Contest Round 34-Chair Shadows

The Shadow Photo Contest is a @photofriend supported project.

Picture1.png

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

If you are already using eSteem on your phone or the wonderful new esteem Surfer on your PC, be sure and use #esteem as one of your tags, post original content and write at least 50 words for the possibility of an upvote from @good-karma !

Posted with eSteem

)
image

>

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures. One of my biggest dreams is to be able to visit Greece especially Mikonos😍

Thanks! I made it a point to avoid the touristy places where the cruise ships stop. There is so much to see in Greece! I got a notice yesterday saying that your package had been delivered. Now today it's back to saying that it will be delivered next Thursday. Lots of confusion, apparently.

Enjoy a lot watching those beautiful photos. I know that in the future I can travel to Greece. That of the package worries me, I do not want something to happen and you lose your money

Do not worry yet! I'm still hopeful it will get through, but if not, I trust Amazon to make the situation right. They are great about customer satisfaction!

Okay, hopefully the package arrive on Thursday so I'll give my cousin some things before she leaves

You are so generous! I hope it arrives

You are so generous! I hope it arrives.

Hopefully. And again, thank you very much especially for your affection. You're the best

This is amazing traveling place; awesome journey @melinda010100.
Absolutely breath-taking photography! ❤ Wonderful shot!

Buenos días amiga @melinda010100, le deseo que tenga un hermoso día y que se encuentre bien. Hermosas vistas que tiene esa fortaleza que es bien antigua amiga , me imagino que la paso de maravilla viendo tantas cosas hermosas en gracia.

greetings @muliadisteem
I'm amazed by your post and I'm interested in it

Very good posts, my dear friend, and a very beautiful view. I really like the views like this ... (I had already frightened the contest for this week, try to look cool)

looks awesome and the kind of place that is just made for b&w photos :)

I'll have to try more of my photos from Greece in black and white. I think you may be on to something....

Photografy yang sangat bagus dan indah sekali

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Sounds like a wonderful holiday @melinda010100.

Mainland Greece is on my list of paces to visit. I've been to many of the islands but nowhere on the mainland other than athens.

Nafplio looks very pretty. 😊

It was beautiful being there we loved Monemvassia, Kalamata, the Mani peninsula. Ancient Olympia, the mountain towns of Dimitsena and Andritsena, Corinth. There were so many wonderful sites to see. It was long ago, but a great adventure! I'll post more pictures, but this was back I the days of film, so they are not award winning photos!

Gosh, that must feel almost like living at the top of the world... heady! :)
Love the views over the rooftops...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77