Sort:  

howdy today melinda010100! I hope today is going well for you. You're probably an early riser and have been up for a long time already.

I started off being raised in Kansas City but then we moved out to the farm in SouthWest Kansas when I was in the third grade, it was way out in the country about 25 miles from Dodge City and that's where I finished growing up, on the farm.

But I drifted around and lived in Kentucky, Indiana, Colorado and the latest state was Ohio.
I don't have kids myself but my wife had a daughter when we married and the daughter had kids early so we have 2 Grandsons ages 21 and 18.

In fact the older one joined steemit but hasn't posted anything yet.
I miss the business in Ohio, we had built a large real estate business and for me it was my dream-come-true stay at home business. I loved it and didn't want to leave Ohio and give that up, at least not when we did.

But my wife said the stress was killing her and she had to stop so we gave that up and moved to Texas because it was the best place we could find within our budget with some privacy and acreage.

Well, plus she loves the hot weather and wanted to move South. I love more of a variety of seasons and didn't want to move this far South.
Now we're looking for ways to make an income, she has a verbal acceptance for a job and if something comes up for me I might be gone from steemit except for very limited engagement.

I was up early, before it even got light. I did a few things here on Steem and then fell back to sleep again for a few more hours. My daughter works each morning for one of my neighbors who is severely handicapped. She goes to his house 7 days a week for about an hour and a half to help him get his day started. And I'm so lucky that she's in my neighborhood every day because when she finishes there she comes and sees me and we often have lunch together before she heads off for classes.

Those all sounds like really great places to have lived. Lots of good life experiences I bet. So you haven't been in Texas very long? I hope you find something acceptable there to do and make some money. Good luck to your wife, too.

You have made a great start at building your steem account. I hope that whatever happens in your future you will still have plenty of time to be here. I think it promises good things for all of us that got in as early as we did.

Now, I off to read your latest post.

howdy again melinda010100! well that is a real blessing to have your daughter around! What is she taking classes for, is she studying for a new career or just in college?

We've been in Texas for three years but in some ways it feels like we've always been here. For one thing getting back into the country was what I needed, my wife had never been in the country but she loved it as soon as we got here.

And we teamed up with native Texans first thing and absorbed the culture and became Texans totally. Actually it isn't that different from being in the country in Kansas so it was easy.

We'll find something but it would be nice if steemit and steem proved itself to be strong and going up in price, that would justify me spending so much time on here! lol.

Alli went to college after high school but she had no clear goals and dropped out, worked in a factory, got married and had her son. Now that he is in HS she has gone back to school and she is loving learning. I think eventually she may end up with a degree in psychology. But this semester she has a class in Swedish! I think she's just having fun.

I am so glad you feel right at home in Texas. It certainly is different from Ohio! I think it would feel pretty foriegn to me.

I am expecting great things from Steem and think you will be completely justified for having spent time here. Pretty sure it will pay off!

howdy again melinda010100! oh that is so cool about your daughter! My step daughter went back to school after our grandsons were older and she went to welding school of all things and she loves it.

She is working in a factory but they have her doing all kinds of repair work and fabrication work, designing and building different things, it's very interesting. She has always wanted to move to North Carolina and was down there a few weeks ago checking things out, close to Wilmington I believe, have you ever been there or is that a dumb question? lol.

I'm sure you're probably right about Steem, that's what I keep telling my wife!

Ha! I I don't specifically remember being in Wilmington but I have spent time along the North Carolina coast and it is beautiful Cape Hatteras is incredible, visiting Kitty Hawk was an amazing thing there's just so much to do and see in that area so different from here! Oh and I do have to tell you I just read your latest Wild Bill post and I'm confused because Deadwood is in the Black Hills. Gold was found near Custer and thats about 50 miles south from Deadwood, but both towns are in the Black Hills

howdy there melinda010100! I hope I can get over there to Cape Hatteras and those areas sometime. Actually it would be fun to start from Florida and go all along the East coast up to New York.

Well now I'm confused about your confusion! lol. Do I need to correct something? I'll go and re-read it to make sure it makes sense so thanks for the heads up. I rushed through that thing so fast today it wasn't even funny, I didn't like that one but I ran out of time.

Maybe I read it wrong the first time, or else you re worded it to make it clear that he got to Deadwood but never bothered to go mining. The way I read it the first time was that he got to Deadwood but never made it to the Black Hills. I remember reading about 10 years ago that prospectors found the biggest gold nugget in the Black Hills that anyone had found since the Gold Rush. Wild Bill should have looked harder! It's still out there!

Driving up the coast would be a wonderful trip! What, 3 months and unlimited money? We always figured $200 a day for traveling. Some days were more and others were less but it usually averaged out around $200.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46