ROBIN on CRABAPPLE TREE for FETHEARED FRIDAY ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฆ‰๐ŸŽ

in #esteem โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Friends,

It's been a while since I joined #featheredfriday hosted by Dear Friend and amazing photographer @melinda010100. However, this past weekend, we had a beautiful sunny day and I couldn't resist to go out in the cold and photograph the beauty of winter.

It was freezing cold and windy, I think -10C, which is insane for November. After being outside few minutes, I saw poor robins gathering on one of the crabapple trees, munching on it's tiny red apples. Unfortunately, they dispersed soon as I as came closer, so I just took few shots of the tree. Luckily, couple of the birds came back, giving me an opportunity to make my move, so I did, lol. I knew these photos are not the greatest, but at that point I had to give up trying because I was freezing cold and I had to go inside. Well, when I was at home warming up, I couldn't help thinking that maybe if I try again I could do better, so I dressed warmer and I headed out again, lol.

To my disappointment, the clouds began to gather and the wind was even stronger, but what else is new. Nevertheless, I walked up and down checking other crabapple trees and looking for the birds but they knew I was coming and fled, lol. I even felt bad, because these poor robins had enough to deal with this early snow and freezing cold and last thing they needed was a crazy photographer frighting them, lol.

Anyway, I spotted one higher up in the Birch tree, as you can see the poor bird sitting next to a bird nest covered in snow. I cropped the photo for you to see it better. I don't have a good enough lens for birds photography, so this is all I could get.

However, one think I don't understand is why they are still here. Robin is migratory bird, there for all these birds should be in Florida by now. Although, the good news is that warmer days are returning so they should be okay. Maybe they will fly to Florida soon as the snow melts.

8dhgmi.jpg
t8mgos.png
b49l70.jpg
t8mgos.png
30pjr7.jpg
t8mgos.png
4mzoip.jpg
t8mgos.png
8l2ef6.jpg
t8mgos.png
tnj8cx.jpg
t8mgos.png
rqtfmf.jpg

PHOTOS TAKEN WITH CANON EOS Rebel T5
THANK YOU FOR VISITING Lena's Photography

b2ho0psmev.jpg

xvn49swa4x.png

Sort: ย 

So lovely ๐Ÿ˜

Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ˜Š

Beautiful photography

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ˜Š

Gorgeous photos Lena! I love the stark contrast from the snow to the berries, just beautiful. 10C is freaking cold ๐Ÿฅถ

Awwwwwwww, hello my Dear Puravidaville, I am so happy to see you. How are you? Thank you so much for visiting, I am happy you like our crabapple trees, but yes, it was freaking cold, lol. But it's warming up now ๐Ÿ˜Š

Iโ€™m good Lena!!! We have been busy busy but am glad that Dandays had me enter a #fff contender, itโ€™s made me look at my feed and check out what all of my friends have been up to.

We just left England where it was getting pretty cold for us but nowhere near 10C. Honestly, Iโ€™m happy to be in warmer climates right now. Us Californians arenโ€™t equipped for anything colder than 60F. Haha

I don't blame you prefer warmer climates. I do too, if I have a choice in the mater, lol. Maybe Australia ๐Ÿ˜Š

Ooohhh, we havenโ€™t been there yet. Anything with a Mediterranean climate and Iโ€™m in. I think the tropical climate can be too much at times ๐Ÿฅถ

Winter is coming, your beautiful snowing scenery with trees.
I'm looking forward your coming great post.
Thanks my dear Lena๐Ÿค—

Posted using Partiko Android

Than you so much my Dear Cherry, I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜

So much beauty even in the freezing cold! I hope they have made it down to warmer temps for their winter abode. At least it's a wee bit warmer down this way. :)

No doubt, winter has it's charm, but this is just too soon and I wonder how long it will be this year. Altough the temperatures are warming now. I hope these bird will fly south soon. I know their main food are worms so there is no way they could survive here. Thank you so much for stopping by Katie ๐Ÿ˜

Beautiful photos! Changing camera settings is difficult if you were wearing your mittens! I have a few Robin's that seem to stay around and I'll always see a few in January. They must be the Arctic Circle contingent and they feel like they've gone far enough South when they get to Wisconsin.๐Ÿคฃ
I'm glad you like the #featheredfriends tag!

Seriously? I don't think I saw Robins here during the winter. But maybe I am wrong and you know way more about birds than I do, lol. Thank you so much Melinda, I am glad you like them, will see if I can get some more when is not so cold. I wasn't wearing mittens by the way, lol. I don't think I could take photos like that, but I will try next time. And yes, the tag is great, I hope it sticks ๐Ÿ˜

I have a whole album of photos of Robins that I have taken in January. Silly things. The ground never freezes along the banks of my creek, so they are probably assured a food supply.
I'm checking both tags, so either one works for now. Things are going to work differently here once communities are introduced.
I was teasing about the mittens! That would be difficult!

We having a believe here in Ontario, that when you see Robins in spring, it means winter is completely over. And I must say, it was true so far. This is why I was so surprised to see them in snow. But I will keep you posted if I see them again or not.

I want test that new tag, so I have to capture some birds, lol

Same belief here and for the majority that is true, they do fly south. I just have some weird ones that must be very hearty!

Oh wow...you have already a lot of snow on your place...! It's beautiful with the sun and your photos are like breathing a fresh air !๐Ÿ˜Š
g6p4a9.png my friend ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you so much Dear Barbara! It came way too early this year and it's going to melt soon. It is warming up already ๐Ÿ˜Š

happy to hear that, yes it is way too early, we didn't have time to say good-bye to Fall season indeed ๐Ÿ˜‰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53