Market Friday: some Street Food in China Town,เดินเล่นที่ไชน่าเทาว์น กรุงเทพฯ

in #esteem5 years ago

This is my entry for #marketfriday hosted by the compassionate and artistic @dswigle. Finally I had the opportunity to visit China town in Bangkok during late afternoon.

hccwztej9y.jpg

2kyekcoqme.jpg

This was the time when various street food stalls would start to come to live along the Yaowarad road which is known as China town. Unfortunately I could not stay till the sky became dark; that would be when all street food stalls came to live and the whole street lit up in colourful colours.

juoof0vc5l.jpg

0syxrmmym1.jpg

l8hbi8mfue.jpg

Most of the home-made street food being served from the owners’ premises are cooked by old people whose ancestors have passed down families’ recipes many years ago. The prices are not as cheap as those street food found in ordinary food courts in shopping malls. There is a sense of pride and competition among the vendors in China town. Each wants to be given the annual award for best street food or most popular stalls. So, the ingredients and quality of food here are premium grade and very fresh.

4uyfv9tnhx.jpg

eg0afdp62w.jpg

f4tcv3xcbf.jpg

Some of these street food stalls and restaurants would have long queues from late afternoon. People would be hunting all the best street food stalls, and the oldest or the most original recipes. Some restaurants are famous because film stars from Hong Kong often patronise these places. In the past I had seen fan clubs waiting for a glimpse of these Chinese film stars with the hope of getting their signature.

b8929xi6zl.jpg

nw1eyezuxj.jpg

fu3vbarn5u.jpg

w1281ii13d.jpg

qpt8elbc4r.jpg

China town is famous for shark fin soups, bird nest and seafood. Being a vegetarian, I do not come out here for dinner as I used to with my family. Those were the good old days of family outings. I am still quite curious of the old Chinese way of life in China town as our first house was very near the Chinese quarter. So, I feel an affinity with these old Chinese families.

42egb40b6w.jpg

xy6k2duhpg.jpg

หลายวันก่อนเราไปเดินเล่นที่ถนนเยาวราช หรือไชน่าทาวน์นั่นเอง เราเริ่มเดินจากมูลนิธิเทียนฟ้า แล้วค่อยๆเดินไปตามถนนเพื่อดูร้านอาหารต่างๆกำลังเตรียมตัวเปิดร้านตอนคํ่า บางร้านก็เริ่มมีลูกค้าตั้งแต่ตอนบ่าย เราไม่ค่อยมีโอกาสมาเดินทึ่ถนนเยาวราชตอนดึก เสียดายที่เราไม่ได้อยู่คอยจนถึงตอนสองทุ่ม เลยอดถ่ายภาพบรรยากาศที่ ถนนมีแสงไฟสว่างไสวในเวลากลางคืน เราเห็นความหลากหลายของอาหารแล้ว มึนมากเพราะถ้าเราเป็นนักท่องเที่ยว เราคงไม่รู้ว่าจะเริ่มกินอาหารที่ร้านไหนดี

d67z5chmwx.jpg

pmyphnafju.jpg

qrnpbipg8d.jpg

g9dhz7alhr.jpg
เราชอบร้านข้าวต้มปลาร้านแรกที่หัวมุมถนนมากที่สุด ดูท่าทางสะอาดและสดมาก และร้านขายหอยจ้อทอดที่สุด ส่วนร้านขนมหวานนั้นดูดีทุกร้าน แต่เขาขายชามใหญ่มาก ถ้ากินอาหารจานหลักแล้ว เราคงไม่มีที่ว่างสำหรับของหวาน เราคงต้องเอาใส่กล่องเพื่อเอากลับไปกินที่บ้าน คนส่วนใหญ่ไปกินหูฉลาม และรังนกกัน แต่ตรงหัวมุมถนนเท็กซัส มีร้านขายอาหารทะเลสดๆหลายร้าน ลูกค้าสามารถชี้หรือเลือกปลาหรือปูเป็นๆได้เลย เราเห็นแล้วก็รีบเดินผ่านไป ร้านอาหารบางร้านมีชื่อเสียงมาก ทำให้มีคนนั่งกินเต็มทุกโต๊ะ บางร้านก็มีคิวยาวมาก

corb59qwlz.jpg

s9ybjjkmj1.jpg

These photos were taken just a third way through China town as I had to make a shirt cut to the underground train station in New Road. Yaowarad Road has reminded me of many good old days of my childhood. I hope I would have the chance to go back there again at night.

twzxim7194.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being part of #MarketFriday. It is such a joy to read through your post, knowing very well how much time and thought goes into making one. I enjoy reading them all and sometimes I get a little behind. This week in particular, I had issues along with everyone else and things kind of went sideways. But, hey!! Where is the fun of life if there isn’t a challenge, right?

To be fair, it was a week of too much work and not enough time when steem finally righted itself. So, I am here late and apologize. This doesn’t mean your post wasn’t awesome! You know it was!

I am a little unsure how voting on comments is going to be, but, it is looking dismal and most of them will be worthless. I voted nonetheless, but, not sure how it all comes out in the wash. So this week, I will be giving a bigger tip to you to make up for that. I need to sit down and figure out what they have done to the system as your post is worthy and they have just made it harder to reward you.

My apologies and hopefully this will make up for most of it!

#MarketFriday loves you- always and always!

Upvoted and Resteemed

!tip .20

Oh! Please, there us no need and no cause for any apology. The past week has been like a whirl wind passing by with lots of unexpected chores and mental challenge.
I was wondering how this energy would affect the majority of people!

I just let myself go with the flows which meant I was behind all my schedule. Time seemed to be running ahead of me all the time. But I was determined to enjoy each day the best I could amidst those worldly worries and uncertainty.

Being somewhat psychic, I knew you would also be quite overwhelmed by various things. But people with good vibes always pull through any testing obstacles!

Please don’t worry about the new calculation system for rewards. I knew it would be very disappointing for most people! With the decreasing value of Steem on the exchanges,things would be rather somber for many people. I am not serious about these rewards as I didn’t put any cash in Steem. This is a very learning process for me. I am more concerned about small fish Steemians who will leave the platform altogether!

I am quite puzzled by the difference between my voting value shown on the slider (when upvoting) and the actual result on the post I upvoted.
The Esteem slider showed that I chose 0.01 but the result on the post showed 0.004!
Where has the rest of the value gone?!

Have you noticed this on the voting slider?

Market Friday is a wonderful place to share our stories, culture and photos. You have created a very popular place for people to meet each other. Very good job indeed! Please don’t worry about the reward or upvotes too much! The intangible rewards are much more precious and memorable!

Thank you ever so much for being You!

Hi, @kaminchan!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you very much.

What beautiful photos! I would love to explore that market.

Me too! This market is very dynamic! Always new things and improvement!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your good work!

ขนมหวานดูน่ากินมากค่ะ

Yes! I tried very hard not to look at them! They all looked very delicious.

Got to say China Town has the most amazing street food i have eaten there many of times :)

Yap! I could always find something new each visit!

Most certainly lots of interesting things to see and eat in China Town :)

Fantastic! I can imagine at night would be really wild : )

Yes! You are right. There are lots more people and more food stalls cooking food all along the road! The neon lights of business advertisements would be making the road very colourful.

Could get a lot of great photos!

What a cool Market Friday posts i love seeign markets from all around the world wit this challenge

Glad you enjoy seeing the market!
Night time should be more crowded!

I surely did Have a great day

Wow sir kaminchan, what an interesting glimpse of the street life and culture there, at least the food culture, it all looks very very good too! Great explanations and information also.

Thank you very much! I hope you could visit Thailand one day! Many things will shocked you! Very strange and different things are abound!

I would love to sir kaminchan and your posts have made it look so interesting and fascinating!

Aha! So I am good at public relations! But don’t have too much expectations! Reality can sometimes be very confusing especially in Thailand!

I would definitely need a local tour guide!

🎁 Hi @kaminchan! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday Forks Over The Day Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you very much for your generosity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84