You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Petoskey Stone

in #esteem6 years ago

howdy again melinda010100...well I know what that no sun thing is like from Ohio with no sun for weeks at a time just like you said, bummer. Some people get depressed. I don't know what people in Alaska do on those long dark winters!

Sort:  

I don't think I could do Alaska or Sweden or any of those up north places! I think I do run on solar power. Winters tend to really get me down after a while. Jim and I would leave and head south for a few weeks when we just couldn't stand it anymore. I will be missing him this winter.

howdy again melinda011000...oh I'm so sorry about your loss. I know what great loss is like but I've never lost a spouse.
But what a blessing to go South in the winter, where in the South did you guys go?
I know that alot of people get depressed in the dark, cloudy weather. I think we worked so much in Ohio that we didn't notice too bad but down here since it's sunny so much of the time, if it's cloudy for awhile then it feels and looks wonderful when the sun comes back out.

Winter time trips were often to North Carolina Jim lived the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Biltmore, so even if the destination was Washibgtin DC, or Savannah, or Charleston we would somehow or another always travel through the Blue Ridge to get to our destination. That is where we spread Jim ashes . We made trips to New Orleans and Alabama and of course we always had to go through Kentucky and Tennessee to get anywhere in the South. We covered a lot of Arkansas and Mississippi, too. One year we spent a month in New Mexico and Northern Arizona and Nevada and Southern California. That was a fun trip for both of us . But we also learned we didn't like staying in campgrounds. Summertime trips were usually across the northern part of the country. We did the circle tour up into Canada around Lake Superior and one of our last trips was out west to Wyoming and Yellowstone and Devils Tower and the Black Hills. We had so much fun together.

melinda010100...wow what wonderful memories. I've never heard of anyone traveling so much in my whole life! lol. But you guys went EVERYWHERE it sounds like, literally. That's amazing and great.
It's a great country with so much to see. And it sounds like ya'll saw all of it. Is there anyplace you didn't go? Alaska or Hawaii?

I have never been to Alaska or Hawaii. Or the Pacific Northwest. Or Texas! Or South America or Australia or China. It is such a great big world and there are so many places I have not been!

howdy again melinda010100! well obviously you need to travel around Texas because the state is so different in geography in the different areas of the state but not Alaska or the Pacific Northwest?

That doesn't sound right does it? It sounds unacceptable but are your travel days over? I hate to think they are but if it's a huge hassle with a lack of travel companions then it might just be the situation.

Travel has become difficult. My house is all handicap accessible and it makes everything so easy, but using gas station restrooms and trying to find hotel rooms that are accommodating is a challenge. I have found that often when they call them handicap accessible, it's a stretch. It would take a dedicated travel companion who was physically able to manage my scooter in order for me to feel comfortable going anywhere. But I haven't totally given up hope. Who knows maybe someday it'll happen.

howdy again melinda010100! I finally got that last post out to finish off my series about Wild Bill. That's the good news. The bad news is that I don't know what to write about next! lol.

But in regards to your traveling, yes don't give up hope yet, it could very well happen!
How much does the scooter weigh? Those things look heavy with the battery and everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44