You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: black and white for monomad

in #esteem6 years ago

hey melinda010100! oh that is so cool, 350 million years old! wow. yeah I suppose that you can buy them on ebay or Amazon too but it would be so much fun to find and collect them yourself! lol. and the only place to find them is Lake Ontario? in the whole world?

Sort:  

Lake Michigan. On the Michigan side. It is their state stone. I think they can be found in other areas around the Midwest, but walking the beaches in downtown Petoskey Michigan is the best known, collecting site.

wow melinda010100.. "walking the beaches in downtown Petoskey Michigan " that is very cool, were there other people walking the beach looking too or were you alone?

It was early in the season, i was wearing a coat, but there were still several others there. The wind was ferocious so I was probably only out there a half hour or less and found a handful. Not the greatest, but I was happy with them!

oh I know that sounds crazy but I'd do it, well in the summer it wouldn't be miserable but you guys were there when it was cold. How big do they get or is that about the size that they are, like fist size?

By summer all the good ones that washed up durung the winter storms and were under the ice and snow are gone. Some of them are 300 lb boulders! The rock shops in town have some really big ones.

wow! well I want a big one but not that big because they are the most beautiful when they're polished right? the ones in the stores are polished?

Sometimes polished. It shows off the pattern better when they have been polished, I think But I have seen big ones outside as lawn ornaments

howdy again melinda010100...well I like the thought of lawn ornaments and the big ones also, and those big ones get washed up on the beach too or do divers get those from the ocean floor?

We don't like hardly any plants around the house because we try to eliminate any hiding places for critters but we like rocks so I think those would be a unique decorative item and conversation pieces to have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44