You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: black and white for monomad

in #esteem6 years ago

howdy there melinda010100! I hope I can get over there to Cape Hatteras and those areas sometime. Actually it would be fun to start from Florida and go all along the East coast up to New York.

Well now I'm confused about your confusion! lol. Do I need to correct something? I'll go and re-read it to make sure it makes sense so thanks for the heads up. I rushed through that thing so fast today it wasn't even funny, I didn't like that one but I ran out of time.

Sort:  

Maybe I read it wrong the first time, or else you re worded it to make it clear that he got to Deadwood but never bothered to go mining. The way I read it the first time was that he got to Deadwood but never made it to the Black Hills. I remember reading about 10 years ago that prospectors found the biggest gold nugget in the Black Hills that anyone had found since the Gold Rush. Wild Bill should have looked harder! It's still out there!

Driving up the coast would be a wonderful trip! What, 3 months and unlimited money? We always figured $200 a day for traveling. Some days were more and others were less but it usually averaged out around $200.

howdy this fine Tuesday melinda010100! oh thanks to you I went back and reworded it because it sounded wrong so thank you! I really should have spent more time on that one but it is what it is. lol.

I don't really like to post, that's the only thing on steemit that feels like work to me. but I think I could travel on $200 a day, that sounds like a fair budget.
by the way, that is so interesting about the largest nugget ever found in the Black Hills! wow. that would be fun!

I think I would have made a really good prospector! I love looking for rocks, even just pretty ones on the shore or in a stream bed. I have bowls full of rocks all around my house that I picked up on my travels. I've come home from Europe with rocks in my suitcase! We had a 2 seater sports car convertible that we did a lot of traveling in when the weather was good.. but if there was a possibility of bad roads we would often take Jim's pickup truck and he used to tease me that he was going to have to get a bigger one simply to haul home my rocks!

howdy again melinda010100...oh wow..so you are a rock hound huh? how interesting and now you have rocks from all over the world! and do you remember where they came from or are they just all mixed together?

And, are rocks in different parts of the world very different from what you find in the United States?

I wish I knew more about them. I just bought some really great ones from @rt395 to give to my grandkids as Christmas gifts. I have learned a lot from his posts, but mostly, the ones I have picked up have just been because I thought they were pretty or they had an unusual shape and would remind me of places I have been. Over the years they've got mingled together and I kind of forget where they're from unless it's something really special that I have clear memories of. When we drove around Lake Superior we stopped at an amethyst mine in Ontario and on one of my trips out to Upper New York I went to a quarry where are garnets were often found. I have walked the beaches in Michigan looking for Petoskey stones, but that certainly doesn't even qualify me as a rockhound, I don't think!

hey there melinda010100! wow I wish all my comments were that long, that's a nice size. My problem is I have "short" thoughts for some reason. lol. I can wrap my thoughts up and they're always 2 to 6 lines normally.

Glen's is 800 words or more! but anyway..hey..I bet if you were younger you would have been a serious rock hound. But even as it was it sounds like you've been able to find some interesting stuff.

but what are Petoskey stones? I think you sound like an amateur rock hound!

Your commrnts are always impressive! I use two different devices so that I can type on one and view the comment on the other otherwise I forget all the points that I wanted to answer from the previous comment! It becomes a rather complicated system sometimes!
A Petoskey stone is a coral fossil that is only found on the shores of Lake Michigan in the Petoskey, MI area. I have a couple that I found on the beach and polished with a grinding wheel. My first attempt ever to do anything like that! image

howdy again melinda010100...oh wow..those are really super, super cool looking and they have to be ancient right? they're stunning and you can just walk along the beach and pick them up?
how big are those?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45