I saved a life

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

hr50ssvzmy.png

Saving a Life

When you think about what you would do if someone were in need, you probably limit yourself by saying 'I have no experience in anything medical, I won't be able to do a thing'. That is just theory. In practice a complete new you will arise. Sounds strange but it does happen. Somehow we are able to put our mind in a state of no limitations when we are confronted with certain situations.

This happens in situations where you can act without thinking. You are on autopilot eventhough you may have never been in a similar situation before. In some situations it is just enough to be there, so the person who is hurt or wounded or uncomfortable in other ways, doesn't feel completely overwhelmed, lost, alone. Calming them down by being there always helps.

Some years ago, an unknown boy rang my doorbell, big eyes, 'You have to come, Sue got hurt'. What? Sue is my next door neighbor's daughter. Were these kids home alone, where was my neighbor, what had happened? Before rushing next door, I had to make sure my own kids knew what was going on. After ordering them to stay in their seat and not move till I returned from the neighbor's house, I went over to see what was happening next door.

Luckily my neighbor was home, but completely in shock, Sue was on the couch, bleeding. "Did you call 911?". My neighbor nodded. "What is taking them so long", she said, "maybe we should drive to the hospital ourselves". That didn't seem like a good idea. Sue was bleeding badly. She had fallen through glass and cut her arm. It was not just a cut in the flesh, there was too much blood for that.

knenkenhpb.png

With no knowledge of medical stuff, other than what they taught me in biology class in high school, I helped Sue keep her hand above her heart hoping to stop the bleeding. When her hand seemed to change color, I made her lower her hand for a while. I had no idea if this was the thing to do, but realized my being there, calmed down my neighbor and that in turn calmed down Sue.

When medical staff arrived we all felt relieved, glad they were taking over. They asked me if it was pulsing. If it what? They assumed I had known what I was doing, but I had not. I had not even looked at the wound, had no idea if it was pulsing. My neighbor accompanied Sue to the hospital, the unknown boy went home.

It didn't feel like I had done much, but later on my neighbor showed up letting me know how things went at the hospital and overloaded me with thank you's. It had meant way more to her than it had felt to me.

Back to saving a life

Yesterday evening there was a situation just like that, although you could say this time I kind of initiated the accident. Bummer!

Someone was about to violate my belongings. When I shoo him away, he gets disorientated, trips, falls on his back in black water and finds out he can't swim.

What do you do? Do you jump after him, do you tell him to swim. For a moment I wasn't sure what to do, but then I decided to save him the easy way. Picked up my teaspoon and pulled him out of my coffee.

q6e1neiovh.png

d6f5beavdv.png

This is the guy I am talking about. He had been bugging me for a long time with his bzzzz zzzzz zzzz bzzz while I was watching a movie. He was kind of stuck behind the shutters. Once he released himself he wanted to take a dive in my coffee. Before he could, I waved him away. That is my coffee, dude. The turbulence must have caught him by surprise, as he landed on his back in my coffee.

You can see the coffee bubbles all over his head and back. He immediately started cleaning himself up. It was strange to see him perform the same movements rabbits and cats do when cleaning themselves. Rubbing their paws over their head.

After a while he looked pretty decent again and took off. You could argue that it was just a fly, nothing important, but I am sure it meant a lot more to him :)
My coffee was wasted, that was the biggest loss.

Images used:

buoy
ambulance
fly - Canon 550d camera

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-20T11:33:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 266.50/200.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hahhaha did not expect that to happen! You should consider making this a @comedyopenmic entry ... :)

@comedyopenmic isn't that all about music and standup comedians?

No it's about funny posts and your post made me laugh .. I'm a judge this week so I had to think about that contest right away.. check out their round 18 post.. ;) you only have to mention comedyopenmic round 18 in the title, nominate two people to join and use the tag comedyopenmic...

Are you aware you are using 'only' and three commands to perform, in one sentence?

Lol no, I wasnt

Haha....this got me cracked up in a serious way. Great job buddy, next time act more like you know what you're doing. :)

Thank you! Well I can handle another fly, not looking forward to experience the other event again any time soon. But in case it does, I will remember this comment and keep my posture.

Of course.

You wanted to know if I would write a post about it afterwards, right? :)

Congratulations @ijmmai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

😂 this is one the funniest things I've read recently, definitely didn't expect the plot twist to the post. lol And yes I'm sure it meant way more to him :)

Thank you. I am glad I made you smile.
Of course I was hoping the twist would amuse people. It is just wonderful to see that it worked :)

It sure did :)

Great thing you did. To Sue and to the fly. :)

Thank you for reading the story.
It was fun writing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.12
ETH 2676.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89