Preserve your character and be consistent with it

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemian!

We all are still new to the year 2019 and what it has in store for us, the year looks promising anyways. 2018 was a great year, it was spent with a whole lot of ambition and aspiration. Some which were fulfilled and few got carried to the new year.

New friends were made last year, especially myself. Made more than 10 solid friends in the month of October alone, real friends that check up on me and those I have to check up on. I was faced with the idea of redefining myself with those new friends of mine.

Was of the thought that I should just be a new me, and try to sell myself to them in ways which for one thing or the other I have failed to do for my old friends. Along the way, I thought it would be best if they met the real me. I would have to save myself from the stress of having to keep up with dual personality, which is what led me to create this post.

portrait-1535266_960_720.jpg
Image source

Character needs to be preserved, people ought to know what you really stand for.

The word character in the dictionary means a lot, but I would be picking two that really concern me:

Character defines the apparent individual nature of something.

It is also an inherent complex of attributes that determines a person’s moral and ethical actions and reactions.

From these definitions, it is obvious that one’s character determines the way others see us. It is always good to have a character and stick to it, you might lose some friends but those who stay would do so simply because they have seen the real you and they like it.

You would seem reliable because they know what to expect from you when things happen.

People admire a chameleon but no one wants to keep one as a friend

So my charge for you today is to stay true to yourself no matter the sticks you are getting, let people love you for whom you are and not what you pretend to be. It saves a lot of stress.

Especially in this new year, there is no need for you say what your new year resolution is. We should be able to see them from you by the month of April.

Keep to your character, keep steeming even if the market is red.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91