FRICTION STORY :ARRANGED MARRIAGE, EPISODE EIGHT

in #esteem6 years ago

ARRANGED_MARRIAGE.

.
.
.
.

EPISODE 8.

arrangedmarriage.jpg

tvtropes

#ARRANGEDMARRIAGE
.
.
.
.
EPISODE 8.

GILLEN'S POINT OF VIEW(POV).
With my eyes shut tightly and the tears falling ever freely, I shook my head in disbelief. How could my Thomas be suffering from a brain tumor? Why hadn't he informed me earlier. I didn't know much about tumors but I had seen enough Hollywood and Nollywood movies to know tumors are lethal, especially brain tumors.
I took a second frightful glance at the medical report from some hospital in Dar Es Salam, Tanzania.
I felt and feared for my Thomas. It must have been so hard to have to live with the fact that you were suffering from a terminal illness.
I shut my eyes again and said a little prayer in a whisper. "Father, Lord. I come to you in prayer this evening. I know with all my heart that with you everything is possible. Tonight, I ask you to come to our aid and rid Thomas of his tumor---"
After the prayer, I slowly drifted off to sleep, on the cold floor. I was too weak to drag myself to bed.
"Gillen!" yelled Thomas, shaking me.
"Mmmm," I sleepily mumbled.
"Why the hell are you here? Shouldn't you be in the arms of that teacher?"
I sighed, getting up. I glanced at the wall clock, 11:37 PM.
I then glanced at Thomas. He was such a strong man. Not being able to fight back the tears, I let them fall freely and forcefully hugged him.
He must have been caught off-guard as he didn't place his hands on my back as he usually did.
"Gillen," said Thomas. "Your tears won't melt me. Seeing you in the arms of another man broke me to the core. And crying and embracing me won't erase that vivid image from my mind."
"Thomas," I sobbed on his shoulder. "I know everything."
Thomas kindly pushed me off him, placing his hands on my shoulders.
"Make yourself clear, please."
I couldn't muster the strength to say anything so I simply pointed at the medical report lying carelessly on the floor.
Thomas glanced at the paper then at me. He crouched down and hurriedly picked it from the floor.
He took a simple glance at it and stuttered, "Where d'you find this?"
"Does it matter?" I sniffed. "Tom, why didn't you tell me this earlier?"
"Why didn't you tell me you are having an affair with your workmate?"
"For crying out loud, Thomas! This isn't the time to discuss such. You wanna hear the truth? Mr. Mbale simply stole that kiss from me. You know there's only one man I love on this earth and that mine is standing before me. And now I get to find out the man has a brain tumor?" the tears flowed freely.
Thomas sighed and sunk himself on the bed. I followed suit.
"Am sorry I doubted you," said Thomas remorsefully. "I should have known better."
"It's fine," I said. "What's the meaning of this, Tom?" I was pointing at the medical report in his hands.
"My love, this report's not lying, am dying."
I felt a surge of adrenaline rush through my body upon hearing Thomas utter the word "dying."
"Don't say that," I said, patting his hands.
"There's no need to sugar-coat shit, Gillen. I'm dying, and the earlier you accept this, the better. No wonder I kept this to myself, I don't want people to be pitying me. That'll make me feel vulnerable."
"But there's treatment, right?" I hopefully said, hoping against hope there was. "I mean, with the coming in of modern medicine and science, am certain there's something the neurosurgeons can do about it."
"Of course there is. How loaded are your pockets?" said Thomas sarcastically.
"I know the treatments must be insanely expensive but that shouldn't keep us from trying, should it? I can borrow a loan from the bank, ask from my relatives, maybe-"
"There's no need to do all that," Thomas cut me short. "It's too late. Whether you accept it or not, the fact is am dying. According to the doctors, I've only got less than a month before I kick the bucket."
I abruptly stood up, pacing the room back and forth, running my fingers through my short kinky hair.
"Less than a month?" I shook my head disbelievingly. "Tom, this can't be happening. The doctors must be mistaken. They can't dictate how long you've got before you die, they aren't God! My God, this is absurd. It's a dream. Yes, a nightmare. I'll wake up from it soon. I'll-"
"Shhh," Thomas pulled me into an embrace. "We'll get through this, I know we will."
Minutes later, I was calm and composed. Thomas and I were lying in bed fully dressed and cuddling.
"Let's involve God," I quietly said. "I have faith he'll provide a way. As they say, 'where there is a will, there's a way.'"
"If that'll make you feel better," said Thomas warily. "Then fine."
We talked about something else even though I knew our minds were still on the brain tumor issue.

"Does your mother know?" I asked Thomas.
It was a few minutes past 5 AM and Thomas was driving me to my place in his red Chevrolet as I had to prepare myself for work.
"Know what? Oh, no she doesn't."
"Your sister?"
"No one else except the two of us knows about this and I'd like it to remain between the two of us." said Thomas curtly, his gaze focused on the road ahead of us.
"Sure," I said. "Mind coming to church with me on Sunday?"
Thomas chuckled. "No I don't." he said. "Though prayer nor church won't save my life." he added in a mumble.
"You don't have to say that." I scolded. "Just have faith. The God I serve is a God of miracles, I know he'll vindicate us."
"It's ironic how religious people become in times of need huh?" said Thomas but I ignored him.
"I'll come pick you up," said Thomas briskly. We were now at my place, outside the gate. "Make sure that Mbale guy stays within his limits or else I'll kick his ass."
I giggled. "Sure, Mr. Macho man."
Thomas chuckled and brushed my lips softly.
I watched him drive off and hurried into the house. I wasn't surprised to find mum praying in the living room, that was her norm.
"You slept out," said mum hotly as soon as she unlocked the door for me. "Again! Don't tell me this is going to become a habit cause I'll be forced to throw you out of my house. Your father might be no more but as the oldest member of the house, I deserve some respect."
I let mum finish her speech and then threw myself into her arms, crying bitterly. Whilst in the car with Thomas, I'd fought the tears but now it was time to let them out.
"Gillen," said mum minutes later after she'd ushered me to a couch. "my baby. Talk to me. Why all these tears. Did Thomas hurt you in any way?"
I shook my head forcefully. "No, mum. It's something worse."
"Something worse?"
"Yes." I sniffed, placing my head on her shoulder. "I found out why Thomas doesn't plan on marrying me soon."
"You did? Tell me already, is he married or something?"
"He's dying." I flatly said.
Brow furrowed, mum said. "What do you mean he's dying?"
"He's got a brain tumor and-" despite Thomas warning me in the car to say I should keep the issue between the two of us, I blurted out everything to my mother. Maybe, just maybe, she could be of any help.
When I was done, I resumed my weeping.
"Shhh," said mum comfortingly, pulling me into a tight embrace. "Everything will be fine. I have faith in God. He'll see us through."
"Will He?" I sniffed.

Do you think Thomas will survive the disease??

To be continued.......

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

signature_1.gif

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

image (2).gif

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

20180618_063654_0001.png

r9ds6udd5j.jpg
Screenshot_20180622-225947.png

STEEMRELIEF_FOOTER.gif

LEGEND_20180627_062107.gif

STEEMRELIEF_PROPOSAL_2.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldbaba1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65