You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A bit of paradise

in #esteem6 years ago

Hey, @melinda010100.

Those photos bring back memories. Very good memories. :)

I've been to Tulum twice now, once in 1996 with a friend from work and then again with my wife more recently (I think it was 2012, something like that).

We didn't do much more than the ruins and the nearby plaza, but both trips were awesome. I find the ruins of the Mayas, and the others to be quite fascinating. At one point, I would have loved to have set up a tour and brought people down there from the U.S. I don't think that's going to happen now, but never say never.

I'm hoping you'll be posting (or someone will) more photos of the area (since there's thousand-plus photos. :)

Sort:  

I can probably be talked into posting a few more! Lucky you for being there twice, especially in the early days! Cancun never appealed to me, but Tulum just seems much more pristine and rather artsy. At least that is the impression I have of the place. Is there anything in particular that you are hoping to see pictures of?

No, not exactly. I mean, I familiar with the grounds of the ruins and the beach below, but didn't really get around Tulum much (I'm not even sure what there might have been).

If it's as you say, it's probably one of the few places left like that on the Mayan Riviera. When the friend and I were down there in 1996, that described Playa del Carmen. Now, it's built up in a similar fashion as Cancun.

When my wife and I went this last time, we were off the main hotel zone, but still not in the city proper, in a new, very nice hotel. We couldn't do that now, but it was a very nice, quiet place, even though there are other hotels building up on both sides of it.

Cancun itself is kind of like most Mexican towns. You get to see that in the brochure or the travel videos. They just go down to the beaches and the hotel zone pretty much.

So, anything really would be cool. If I were to live anywhere in Mexico, it would be over on that side.

They were supposedly going to build an international airport near there. Do you know if that happened? This was probably 5-7 year ago, give or take, that they were in the process of going through whatever their stages are. It seemed like it had stalled, but I was wondering if maybe they actually got it going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83