Karmeliet: my favorite beer!

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

image.png

Well I promised @detlev to write a post before Friday about my favorite beer! I am a man of my word, so here is the post!

Maybe first some background! I am a beer and white wine lover. The taste for wine and beer has evolved and is more or less the same. Just like I only drink white wine, I do love the blond beers the most. Which is strange because I really used to love Palm! Which is from the darker segment!

Karmeliet

Well at the moment and to be honest since a year or 3, Karmeliet is my favorite. I do even remember when and where I did drink my first Karmeliet! I have to admit that the taste immediatly was great but that was not the reason why I do remember it!
The real reason is that I did knock over my first Karmeliet ever! So it wasn't love at first sight I can say!

Karmelier is brewed by the Bosteels brewery, which is now owned by the largest beer company in the world ABinbev! The beer itself has 3 main ingredients: wheat, oats and barley and was first brewed in 1996. But does follow an old recipe from 1679 derived from the Karmeliet convent in Dendermonde!
The beer is bottled unfiltered.
The color is described as complex, somewhere between gold and blond! When you drink it, it starts with a mild sweet taste, which evolves into orange taste to end with a mild bitter taste! It is just perfect for me!
I do try out other tripel and stronger blond beers, but each time I do fall back to Karmeliet!

Where to drink?

image.png
In Belgium Karmeliet is offered in the bottle but some bars also have it fresh from the tap. The latest has the advantage that also smaller glasses are offered. Which could come in handy, because it has an alcohol percentage of 8.4%. So normally I do stop after drinking 2 of these!
I rarely drink beer at home, I do prefer to drink it in a bar or snooker hall!

Awards

Karmeliet has won 3 awards and is climing in popularity in Belgium. Where it used to be hard to find a bar with Karmeliet, every bar which has a contract with ABinbev does sell it, and they do sell them a lot!
After winning their first global beer award a shortage came around! There was just too much demand and not enough available. This was in 2009 and in 2012! Glad that they increased the production twice!

But back to the awards!

  • 1998 -> Gold in Best Belgian Style Triple beer
  • 2002 -> Silver in Best Belgian Style Triple beer
  • 2008 -> Gold in Best Pale Ale Abey

If you ever have a chance to drink it, don't let this chance pass by!
If I am not mistaken a good #beersaturday post does have 3 pictures of the beer! So I couldn't leave this one out :)
image.png

Cheers,
Peter

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

The way you describe it, seem a really nice beer to taste and take your time to drink it!

It really is. It is not a beer which you could or should drink bottoms up!

Beer is the best. That one looks amazing. I wonder if I can buy it where I live. I guess I will have to get looking or wait until I am traveling.

I hope you can! It is worth a try!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Burp!...oops, sorry...

That beer has a little bit more alcohol content than the strongest beer in our country. I guess I could still handle two of those. Unfortunately I don't think Karmeliet is available in our country. Anyway cheers as Friday is almost here!

Hi @fullcoverbetting!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.254 which ranks you at #2612 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2608).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 200 contributions, your post is ranked at #81.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Whooot, that sounds tasty and I will have a look for this at my next beer shopping.

Thanks for joining the #BeerSaturday and greetz to that Grimbergen Lover on that pic.

!BEER

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @fullcoverbetting, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

This sounds like a great beer, strangely enough here in South Africa, the beers from the tap is larger than the bottled versions, we use 500ml glasses for beer from the tap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77