Fresh Chicken and Fish Somewhere Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

I was in a local grocery store with my friend @josephinengpy. She is on STEEM but also a very busy University professor among 100 other things. Josephine has helped me survive this year in Malaysia and I am not exaggerating.

Jo often calls to take me on random trips for shopping or lunch and this was a small moment from one of those adventures.

This store is near here, but I do not remember which one it is. It does not matter though, because all Malaysian grocery stores sell their fresh meat and fish in this manner. I have many photos from different stores because I always become entranced.

Yes, this is how we do it in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. Just pick that raw chicken up up your bare hands and bring it to the clerk. My Western sensibilities go into shock.

fresh chicken and fish malaysia fitinfunfood.jpg

Pick out what you want and go wash your hands at the many surrounding sinks later. If the product was wrapped in plastic it would not be trusted. How could you possibly know if it was fresh?

It is the same theory in all the SE Asian countries I have visited. But in the other places I saw open sales of meat and fish it was out on the street or in an outdoor market - often still alive.

I never went into any grocery stores in those other countries. My life now is not what it was in in California. I would not be in this KL store either if not for Josephine. Most of what I buy and eat is within my short walking distance and not in any stores.

IMG_20190731_154413.jpg

You might need to ask for help with this big fish, and you will get it.

IMG_20190731_154318.jpg

Maybe live crabs are more your style.

IMG_20190731_154305.jpg

Too rich for my blood. 30 RM feeds me for a week.
IMG_20190731_154311.jpg

My aunt the pioneer/wanderer/forager back in the states told me you tell freshness of fish by pressing on the eye. I do not think I need to do that here.

IMG_20190731_154257.jpg

Catfish is not just in the US. Who knew!

IMG_20190731_154344.jpg

There is absolutely ZERO bad fish smell in this area. Instead the ocean comes to mind in a very pleasant way.

Just a few more random shots.

IMG_20190731_154353.jpg

IMG_20190731_154349.jpg

tggr snapfeed IMG_20190731_154358.jpg

The man with the yellow bucket-ish thing on the right is zhushing and refreshing the ice for a new load of fish to be laid out. You can see his traveling ice cart in the bottom of the frame.

IMG_20190731_154426.jpg

Action shot! He was not kidding with this activity and I wish I got more photos. But Josephine already got what she came for and off we went!

IMG_20190731_154424.jpg

My post today is for the Market Friday weekly event by Denise @dswigle. Show us where you shop and you can enter too. She wants to see any place you can spend money even if you did not!

Denise loves her flowers, so I always put one in my post to stay on her good side :)

Here are your flowers for today, Denise. This bush is on my condo property and just came into bloom. I got this shot on a quick walk-by at a time of low light. It's on my list to go back and do better! This monster is going crazy in tropical Malaysia right now.

IMG_20190830_185533_HDR.jpg

steemitmamas.png

Before and after later that same life fitinfun.jpg

Sort:  

I wish you would have shown pictures of the sink!

That is one thing I cry about here while living in San Diego, the chicken... there is no fresh local, organic chicken, the costco stuff even has freezer burn.

In Alameda they sell chickens in a similar (yet waaaaaay more california matter) where the chickens are laying on ice, and you choose which one you want (through the glass) and then the butcher chops it for you and wraps it in not plastic. There is also supposed to be another spot where the chickens are still alive, you choose the one you want, and then they kill it, and de feather it for you....

But I haven't been. The person who told me about it was telling me how to clean the guts the correct way and I don't think I want any of that in my kitchen.


Posted via Marlians.com

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 188 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @fitinfunfood, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Its similar too in the Philippines. We need to touch it bare hands. Mouth - watering especially when it's grilled. I love your santan flower, we used to eat the inside of the flower when we were children, strange but yes, haha. As for the taste, its tasteless.

You take care @fitinfun, bless you

hi @sherylneil! Haven't seen you around here lately, doens't mean you aren't here lol - I guess we have just been hanging on other ends of the steemverse - its so big now!

LOL. Tasteless flowers, around here we have some yellow flowers that grow like weeds but when you suck on the bottoms, they are tangy and lemony.


Posted via Marlians.com

I can't say that I wasn't horrified with the chicken, but, it has been a while since I have seen that. It is okay when you see it every day, but, to take it in cold!

Yikes!

And yet, they all survive. It did look pretty fresh! I saw when you first got here, one of the street people cutting up your chicken. Wowsers!!! For real! The fish's eyes are always clear when they are fresh. You can press on then if you want, but, their eyes tell the story!

Thank you always for thinking of me and I appreciate the time and effort spent to make a post for the challenge! Have a great Sunday!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @fitinfunfood! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75