Market Friday The Scene in Wangsa Maju Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

in #esteem6 years ago

I have a local wet market where I live in the Wangsa Maju area of Kuala Lumpur. It is open Tuesday through Saturday from about 7 am to 9 am. Different vendors come on different days and I am not quite up on all of those details, so I get what I can get while stumbling around so early in the morning.

Today I am showing you mostly the scene and not too many products. I do not know what most of the products are anyway so you can not know what you are looking at with me.

This first photo is the pork vendor from up above. This is the first thing I see while walking to the market, but the last place I get to due to the path I need to take. But I am definitely buying the pork products when I get down there. The liver I love so much is free! I have no idea why, but I'll take it.

5le7cn9idg.jpg

I have no idea what this man sells, but I like his red stool set up.

hahbw8y1f5.jpg

This is the sign of an organized mind.

hqhl80pt0x.jpg

I have to pause at the top of the stairs to photograph my skinny legs each time I come to this spot with the chickens hanging off the grill thing. The morning light and low sun makes me look taller and thinner than I am and I could look at myself for hours right here. People have to go around me while I gawk at myself.

aor8x9ud9n.jpg

The lady in the green shirt is my chicken lady, unrelated to the last chickens you saw on the grill thing.

ebiajhnaox.jpg

She sells raw chicken cut up however you like it. I get two chicken breasts each time for about $1.25 usd and she chops them up so I can stir fry the pieces. I also get her eggs you can see. The chicken will be coming in another post and that will be not-safe-for-vegans.

This greens table is action central. I just get a few small items and pay my dollar. Most of the other people are having controversy. I wish I could understand what is going on, but the guy in the black shirt is always moderating disputes. It's chaos here every single time and maybe I will try to get a video of it for you.

8wr7x3a2tw.jpg

This lady sells all kinds of dried, canned, and packaged items as well as things such as mushrooms, garlic, onions, and ginger. She is really nice to me and speaks good English. But she often does not know the names for products in English and if she does, I still don't know what it is. She lets me sample things and I still don't know what they are.

mm4d02yk23.jpg

For example, MANY people buy this by the handful. I only know "it's good for your health!" I want it, but I do not know what I would do with it.

3s1g2xq78k.jpg

A lot of people sell it. Sometimes it comes in trees and sometimes it comes in lumps. It might be salted vegetable as you see in the packages next to it. But what kind of vegetable?

tyo7x9neqs.jpg

Here is is being sold in tree-like form next to packages of seaweed rounds from China. I got the seaweed for about 50 cents and it is delicious! Just as good as the seaweed I got in Thailand and half the price!

m70h20zvy4.jpg

So now you are as confused as me. Stay tuned for my next post in this series which will have more focus on products and much less information. I hope I will have my act together for this time next week.

If you spend money anywhere, you can take photos and post to Market Friday too. This is sponsored by @dswigle and most people actually know what they are looking at, so please go check them out! Here is today's announcement post for your enjoyment.

039lew8cd0.jpg

Sort:  

@fitinfun It's nice to look at a local wet market from a non Malaysian perspective. Thanks for sharing your experience. The man with the red stools sells dried goods by the looks of it. Maybe Chinese herbs, red jujube dates, beans, etc. Try buying from him some red jujube dates and boil at home for drinking, like tea. I think 500gm should do it for personal consumption but you can always get more. Keep the unused ones in the fridge. https://www.veganamericanprincess.com/how-to-make-jujube-tea-hot-cold-and-the-many-health-benefits-of-jujubes/

Thank you so much for this information, @francesaw. I did get some of the jujube's one time, but I just ate them! They were kind of dry lol.

Next time, if will definitely make the tea. I already make ginger tea, but I think this will be awesome. I'm so glad you like my post and gave me these tips.

Hey @fitinfun, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 100.00% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Hi @fitinfun! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Thank you for taking me to a market I would never have otherwise seen. I'm shocked by the low prices of the products.

You're welcome. Life is a lot cheaper everywhere I have been in SE Asia. I used to live in California and I stick get sticker shock - in a good way!

That's what I heard. A Western can have a good life in Asia.

Yes, this is very true. Everything is easier here :)

Yes, I understand...but so far away!

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

You are awesome! Thank you so much!

That looks like a lot of learning of new traditional foods, glad to see you are finding your way around your new country Sharon.

We don't get to many markets, boring supermarket stores, I don't photograph! I do support a little shop in our village where the owners go to the market some way away, thanks for sharing your time exploring for food, hope some people let you know what foods are available here in Steem.

Your marketfriday post does not have to be about food. Any type of shopping qualifies for this one. I would love to see your local shops of any type :)

My favorite food here so far is Indian! This is such a multicultural place. I need to get better posts out so everyone can see how cool it is here :)

Oh, my, Sharon! @fitinfun The learning curve is real! I must say that you probably had the same issues in Thailand when you first got there. The difference is, you went there of your own volition. That makes a whole different set of circumstances. I am hoping that you will be able to get back to your beloved Thailand sometime soon and life will be easier for you.

In the meantime, what an adventure! I actually know a steemian who lives in that city, do you know anyone on here that does? Are there many Americans that you have met and have you found some foods that you really enjoy?

I wish the best for you as you are between a rock and hard place right now. I pray life will get easier and the road will be to be traveled with no problems. XOXO

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Thank you so much, @dswigle. I am actually doing really well here. I am hooked in with the teammalaysia community and they take good care of me. I have so many friends here, but I can always use more, so I will be glad for an introduction.

I do have the same learning curve on food again. It is nothing at all like Thailand even though they are next door neighbors. They have Thai food here, but it is Malaysian Thai food lol.

I'm so happy for your support and I will try to get my next market post with more detail out next week. I go to Singapore the week after that for a visa run and I will be a crazy fool about that as I make my plans.

You have been defended with a 17.04% upvote!
I was summoned by @fitinfun.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fitinfun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 35.49% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @fitinfun! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48