Let's Visit The Fish Farm Albota for Sublimesunday

in #esteem6 years ago

In 2016 I had the chance to visit this amazing place and now want to share with you my amazing trip. Make sure you get to the end of my story to see the best fish food I've ever had :)

gc4i1gvki0.jpg

Albota is the trout farm at the foot of the Carpathian Mountains, in the Arpasel Valley, surrounded by the Natural Reserve and the Albota and Buteanu mountain peaks at 2507 m. It is situated at Arpasu de Sus nr 505, 557016, România.

z8u0ucm2m9.jpg

As soon as you get out of your car (there's no other way to get there) you can see this magical view.

wnxg3grsvi.jpg

You just have to cross the creek and you are at the small guesthouses made of wood.

60u45t96s2.jpg

This is the porch of one of the wooden houses with wooden tables and chairs. I can see myself having coffee here.

xkeoxs86y2.jpg

This is the big lodging house, made of wood in rustic style.

j2605o1k5d.jpg

If you want to know more about the history of the place and its transformation until today, every Sunday the owner is guiding tourist around Albota fishing farm telling the story of the place and answering questions. This is an 1 hour walk.

gndcwbi9a4.jpg

View from the balcony, full of beautiful flowers.

yutj47nyi4.jpg

g0poxw7y2e.jpg

This is a place where the small trouts are kept.

3ab15ql1dq.jpg

Let's see who likes this gorgeous rustic wooden house!

039tx7scn8.jpg

A bunch of firewood for winter.

m5dlkx4p13.jpg

One of the ponds full of big and healthy fish close to the wooden cabins.

poy27kq0dt.jpg

Another pond with a nice wooden deck with stairs that can get you closer to the big fish.

mkovsrukfi.jpg

Don't even think about catching fish here with your bare hands :) Fish are smarter than you, besides, there is a place where you can fish.

81zdov4mpt.jpg

There is a fee for fishing. You have to pay for one hour, which costs around $1.26 (this was in 2016), $6.06 for every kg of fish you caught, and another $0.51/kg in case you want your fish cleaned. You have to buy the fish you caught, throwing back the fish is forbidden.

pwqsbgkoiq.jpg

This pond is full of fish, what do you think, can you catch some?

j9wm4xut3b.jpg

Look at that one, how big it is! If you're not lucky enough, at leas you can have some fun fishing and every evening before sunset you can watch the workers feeding the fish.

j079w28lum.jpg

There were people fishing when we were there. Kids love it for about ten minutes, then they get bored, usually :) Don't worry, there is a swimming pool, it's that baby blue in the background and that's not all.

lwyfgi3uru.jpg

There is a small playground for the little ones.

6qs9t30lv7.jpg

This is me going up to the observation tower from where you can see the whole area.

d1l8rqes7f.jpg

lrzcd85gmm.jpg

Look at that view!!

ypytqwqenm.jpg

This is one of the two greenhouses next to the big lodging house. Self-sufficiency is the keyword here. 80% of the products served are grown and prepared here. I can see beans and tomatoes but I bet there are other vegetables and fruits in the greenhouse and next to it, in the open garden.

juhfg0t0gp.jpg

Look at this tomato! This is the real deal! When you see this you can't leave without serving something. It's nice to see tomatoes growing, that can actually end up in your salad.

There is also a farm with cows, buffaloes, Angus cattle, goats, sheep, rabbits, horses, donkeys. There's a bakery, a smoker, a butcher shop, a milk/cheese processing workshop and a shop where you can buy things made here.

uuv0wvewp8.jpg

I found this gorgeous sunflower in the open garden. Isn't it perfect?

l4houokz1g.jpg

According to this poster, at Albota there are 13 ponds producing 50 tones of fish annually. A trout can weight 0.25 kg in two years. There are two types of trouts here. The trout Fântânel, which has white fins, red dots on the side and its back is dark. The other one is called Curcubeu which means Rainbow in English, it has dots on its back and a red line.

Now comes the fun part! Look at that food!!! It's the specialty of the place! It is trout fillet in corn flakes with parsley sauce and boiled potatoes! I knew the food is heavenly good so I went there hungry and so should you! (I had the intention to take a photo of the food but as soon as I saw the dish, totally forgot about it and started eating. So shame on me, now I have to post the menu :D)

l3ofnsb1ai.jpg

What would you choose from here?

uch8srq0nx.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog. It's an amazing place and I'm sure I would go back one day. If you are in Sibiu, don't miss it. The distance between Sibiu and Arpaşu de Sus is 51 km. You can also taste this amazing dish at Shopping City Sibiu.

This is my entry for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and for #Sublimesunday by @c0ff33a.

Sort:  

Such a nice place to spend the day in Romania.
Did Simona ever visit? :-)

Thank you @ace108! I have no idea who Simona is.

I thought she is famous in Romania

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simona_Halep

Simona Halep
Simona Halep (Romanian pronunciation: [siˈmona haˈlep]; born 27 September 1991) is a Romanian professional tennis player. She is the current world No. 1 on the WTA Tour, a ranking she first achieved in October 2017. Halep first broke into the world's top 50 at the end of 2012, reached the top 20 in August 2013, and finally the top 10 in January 2014.

She is. If you'd have said Halep, I'd have known who you are talking about. Simona is a very common name in Romania. On the other hand there's only one Simona Halep.

I love trout! I think it's my favorite fish. What a fun place to go!

It is indeed, I love it :)

What a cool trip you took us on, i did sooo like the sum up picture you made, got me wanting to keep reading :D 💕 i canT beliiive the sizze of that tomato O.o ha ha
You did well framed interesting pictures, woohoo Great post 💕 :D

That tomato is a normal size for garden grown tomato, we have it in the garden usually, it's just it's a bit early for that. I'll show you more during the summer :)
Thank you for the nice comment :)

ohh? wooow i need to get me one of them tomato gardens, liek asap!!
Nice, love to see, im waiting for next post :D💕💕

Thank you! :)

Great place, such a nice place to visit... and eat ;))))!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 21 SBD worth and should receive 139 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you very much @trufflepig for selecting my article! Unfortunately nothing much has happened.

Such a nice place to be... Please can I have details of this place, I'd love to be there someday. I want to have a physical experience of everything in this fish farm for myself.

You should have found the address reading the post.

I absolutely loved reading this magnificent blog @erikah and your photos are amazing. I particularly love those charming, rustic houses and would love to stay in one of those lovely guest houses. (U & R )

Thank you so much my dear Trudee! You are very kind 😊 I'm a bit busy these days, haven't had much time to visit my favorites but I'll definitely make up to you soon. There's the gardening season and we're expecting guests from Germany.

What an incredible place, and all your wonderful photographs are fantastic really took me on a trip with around this Fish Farm.

They have some big fish in water as well - I laughed at your comment about not catching them with your hands! Super photo of the Sunflower at the end, and the fish menu does look delicious.

Thank you for sharing your #SublimeSunday with us.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you so much @c0ff33a for the nice review! I hope I can make another post soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43