Survival: Bamboo Cooking Pot

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

The rain has not stopped yet, but there is no storm today. I Step out from the abandoned house carefully after peeking through the holes on the wall. We had been 3 days since we stepped in this house to save ourselves away from the blood hunter. We are group of five; My wife, and our 3 little girls and I myself. It is not an easy task to lead a group with children and my wife to survive, but I must do my best to save healthy next generation after this mega disaster, they give their faith on me, they trust me to save them and bring them to find new life. I myself doubt about the new life, but I must try my best not to disappoint them. I won’t turn my back off for them. I told myself again and again :” Survival is adjustment ability to adapt in particular situation until it feel as routine life ”. I knew a few ways of traditional life and I had ability to recognize the unusual environment conditions.

zcd8e6t785.jpg

ahbl8lzwit.jpg

It has been 6 months looking for another place to establish new life for my little group, 3 little girls; the youngest is 3.5 and the second is 7 years old and the oldest is 12 years old. We had to avoid the fight with the blood hunters since we had no chance to win at all, I could not take the risk of my wife and my 3 little girls. This rotten wooden house is far enough from the last village we crossed 4 days ago. I haven’t seen any other food print or single sign of other human nor groups pass the area since then.

They have been away from homeland since the EMP wipe out our home land, I remember they were too young to run at night and stay without proper shelter. It was rainy night when a group of people started to burn out our village we all were so scared. My wife managed to wake them up and prepare to flee away that night. I could not save much, but only important tool that I had prepared for survival training. I was lucky to grab a flintstone (magnesium flint fire starter) so I have no worry to set a fire when I need it, we have no more electronic device and gas lighter or torch, but only a small fire at night to warm ourselves in our hiding shelter or cave.

qmlp20eq5c.jpg

Foraging Food

Heading to the deep valley in the mountain is my destination now, I knew it will be much more easier for us to survive there, and I am sure that I could find more food and fresh water out there, and the most important thing is that place will make my family feel safe from the blood hunter. But now, I need to prepare find food, all the food we had found have been eaten for the last 3 days, and it is time for foraging from the forest. Besides, I need to find the safe road to walk away from this shelter. If someone finds this wooden house, we would have big problem. It is time to find something to eat immediately. I ask my wife and kids to stay inside and make no sound at all. I walk to the bush and looking for something, I hope I could find mushroom or something else, maybe taro and kind of wild fruits, because they have good carbohydrate and glucose. I remember that I left some brown sugar to my wife in case I do not find anything and I took some with me to keep my energy for looking more foods, that brown sugar will be able to buy us one more day while we walk away from the house.

I have been walking for one hour, but nothing I can find, I saw the river, but I have no time to do fishing now. Something cross my mind; I will bring my family to cross this river, but the current is too strong and this river is deep, I knew it is flood, I will be able to swim at this current but the rest of my family won’t be able to make it. The idea is good to cross it, but I need to wait until the water gets lower. Perhaps within next 2 days.

gwc847nxge.jpg

nyyy8iy71p.jpg

Anyway, it is the safer way to go deeper into the jungle. I step closer to make sure the right point to cross, and yes this is the right point to cross. I keep looking for something to eat and I found wild taro, I knew this one is good to eat, although not too many people recognize the different with the poison one. I can recognize this from it buds. I am so happy to have it and really sure this taro will last for a few days or even a week. I took it and clean it in the river.

009391weno.png

Left: poisonous wild taro and the bud is red, and at the right is eatable wild taro with white bud

1xjs8ux8ia.png

Left: poisonous wild taro stem, it has green stem color, and at the right is eatable wild taro with brown stem skin

s94tny5txx.jpg


Cooking Wild Taro Porridge in Bamboo Pot

Preparing bamboo

It is better for me to cook it here instead in the house to avoid unexpected sign from the smoke, but I did not have any cooking pot. My eyes are looking around to find something that I can use as cooking pot and finally I saw bamboo as the best option to be my cooking pot
This is the way to prepare cooking Taro in Bamboo; Cut the bamboo before the segment to keep both segment uncut, make a hole about 3-4 cm. Clean inside of hole with leaf and wash it. It is better to have 10 cm of bamboo diameter.

s8704p97ye.jpg

Cooking Wild Taro Porridge

Ingredients:

• 15 cm clean wild taro
• 1 tbsp salt
• 30 gr brown sugar (palm sugar)

Preparing Taro and cooking

This taro is very different from the normal cultivated one, this taro does not produce tuber to eat but stem itself is eatable, as long as we know how to prepare to avoid the poison from the skin of the stem.

Step one:

Cut the stem 15 cm from the ground and 15 cm from the first green leaf (depend on size of the stem), this middle part has less poison.

Step two:

Chop off the outer skin about 3-4 cm, because the poison is concentrated inside outer skin

e2i4ozhiqy.jpg

Step three:

Slice it into smaller size depend on the size of bamboo tube

Step four:

Wash it thoroughly with fresh water and put it into the bamboo one by one

9f4xu1a0o5.jpg

Step five:

Add some brown sugar and salt into the bamboo and mix it with taro

4h3qrv3eyk.jpg

Step six:

Fill the bamboo with water and close the hole again, dot not close the hole tightly to avoid the pressure in the bamboo.

Step seven:

Put the bamboo on the fire

4xi41zw587.jpg

xps1wuvt1p.jpg

The problem is I haven’t set the fire yet. I need to do it before the rain is getting heavier. I don’t have gas lighter (gas match), only 3 things I brought from the shelter, I have a knife, a machete, and a flintstone. I need to prepare to set the fire to cook the food. I need really thin wood fiber or something dry thin and light like coconut fiber, and I found it in the bush, maybe it was eaten by someone else and left the fiber there a few week ago. And here is my way to set the fire:

This is the link how I set the fire to cook wild taro porridge

https://dlive.io/video/el-nailul/800328d0-942d-11e8-b2de-f7be8f055a16

Finally, I made it, I have set the fire and now time to cook the food for my family and myself. I have no worry to burn out the bamboo, because the bamboo is full of water. I had experience to boil the water in a plastic bottle, the fire will not burn it until the water is hot enough to make some coffee.

I have been outside for 4 hours and I think it safe to bring my family to have some fresh air and bring them with me for a while since the distance with the shelter is not really far. I left the cooking food for 30 minutes and I return with my family and eat the porridge. They were so happy for the food, it was really delicious even more than my expectation.

e5j5hndd4k.jpg

rsbc3oymmx.jpg

gi1yn028pu.jpg

ilupnk3ch2.jpg

Please note: The story in this article is a fiction, and it is intended for Prepper Cook-Off Challenge #3! by @canadianrenegade, read this article for more information. The photos and food are real and made by myself. It is not recommended to eat any kind of wild taro if you do not recognize and understand to prepare it for your own safety.

@el-nailul

Hope for the best and prepare for the worst

Sort:  

Great story friend! At first, I was asking myself, "Is @el-nailul and his family ok?"

I am glad that I read the disclaimer at the end!

I wish we would never had this kind of situation @sumatranate...:D, it is only in case we do not have anything else to cook something.

Loved the story. THought it was real until the last moment.

BTW, All the thanks for what you have done @rifkan, i just found it out :D

Thank you and I am happy you can enjoy the short story, thank to my friend @canadianrenegade for the whole idea of the contest

You seriously had me wondering what was going on until the end. Good way to present the ideas and cooking technique. Great job and hope you do well in the contest.

Thank you my friend @thedarkhorse, I managed to get internet connection at this midnight. But the good news is I got 15 steem from cashing bytball, so our project will have more helps

Nice! that is a nice little bonus. Can't complain about getting something for free like that.

So, just let me know who I need to support again for week 17 and week 18, okay. I will be there..:D

Is it bak birah bro el-nailul?, my mom used to cook it, it boiled and eat with grated coconut and palm sugar, i really miss that moment. Anyway.. glad to know the story is a fiction to complete the challege.. goodluck :)

Yes it is, we normally name it Birah Minyeuk or Birah U, but not too many people recognize it when they find in the bush, it become very rare in Aceh since they use Herbicide to kill the weeds. But I have shown the different between the poisonous and the eatable one.

Yaa.. right, last month we had that plant at our backyard, but killed by herbicide, i forgot to tell the man who spray it. Thanks for figure out the poisonous and eatable one.

Hi el-nailul,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much for your generous up-vote @curie, really appreciate what you have done for me and for everyone else on this steemit platform. wish you all the best and bright future

What an excellent entry with a good story as well!

I'm also very impressed by your bushcraft and foraging skills. 😁 That Taro is massive!

The idea is yours, I am only the executor of the idea, thank you very much for your appreciation and paying attention for those comments, I would like to encourage you to be involve in PIFC (Pay It forward Curation) by @pifc. We will be very happy to have you in the loop. check the post from @thedarkhorse if you dont mind

Hi El-nailul,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Monday/Early Tuesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]


Curie Badge transparency.png

P.S. This is coming a bit delayed due to the issues with Steem API that is making the frontends misbehave. Bear with me. I understand the short notice may inhibit your contribution is composing the showcase post. That I will do my best to work around, and delay the release of the post for a few hours to give you time to respond.

I have no objection at all if this post is published in Author Show Case, please feel free to take it, I am really appreciate the hard work of you and curie curator for doing really hard task to support great content and make steemit as a better place for all of us. Thank you very much @misterakpan

I have tried to find you on discord, but I failed, it seems something goes wrong.

Wow this is the COOLEST!!! I adore the stories and I love your photos. What a great entry and well worthy of being a winner. xx

Thank you @riverflows, I really appreciate your support, and I wish you will participate the next preppercookoff contest by @canadianrenegade

When i read this story i remember my childhood. One day i n my friend found taro near my grandma house. We think it's a casava and we start to eat, without cooking it. You can imagine what happen afterward 😑

That was really a nightmare for days. what did you give to neutralize the poison?. We normally eat rice (before cook) to handle it.

We drink so much water, eat rice n salt. It took 2 hrs to get better

You must had very strong anti toxit in your body and no allergic to that kindda things, if you could recover that long @nongingna, I found those species wide spread around Samahani and Sibreh, I visited that place in 2008. Wish you always in good health and spirit, all the best for you future my friend.

I think i just lucky lol
I dont wanna think about it anymore. All the best for you too, sir

omeenn sep mangat nyan sang... lagee ta pajoih leumang haree. dari warna mantong kop bereih.. man bit han gatai neuh watee neu tagun bak keladi nyan? miseu di jawa pu ji kheun? talas nyeh? bapak mertua loen kayem geu bloe, saweub han tom loen pajoih bak mamak.. jadi han loen tem rasa, tapi saweub kayem that geu bloe, suwah pajoih syit keu ta teupeu kiban rasa..memang mangat adak pih ta reuboih gee nyan mantong. nyan pih miseu saban keladi nyan ngon talas nyang geu bloe nyan.

kop bereih drou neuh neu tuleh calitra lawet nyou, adak pih jareung-jarueng neu teumuleh, tapi ban ka sigou ji lop lam curie, ka na nan.. tinggai preih mantong ji jak lom, hahahaha... mudah2an meunang droun lam challenge kali nyou, na ji pakat le si aimee bak mas lakoe, tapi han teujeut peugah tem, saweub susah ta mita bahan dan alam. kon hana lucu miseu loen taguen jengkol.. sedangkan loen tuwan hana galak jengkol. hay.. awak nyan ka tom ji ikot pifc, sigou ikot langsung menang bak minggu 15 away hay

Nyan geu boh na le ureung tanyoe bak birah minyeuk, atawa birah u, jareung ureung tuoh nyan lam uteun, rab sama ngon birah buy, birahnya na chit yang gatai nyoe hana paih bak tapeulaku. tapi nyoe bereh bak tapuelaku that mangat, lon na tom peuget timphan dan lon taguen kuah leumak ngon bak birah nyan, sep brat mangat. Ohlheuhnya lom get that keu ubat saket tuleung atawa rematik. Jih yang ta cok bak jih, dan birah nyan raya-raya tapih hana umbi yang model lageenyan. Yang na umbi bak keuladi geukheun. tapi bak keuladi di pula, jadi hanjeut pake untuk kontehnyan. keuladi jih hana hayue, tapi cara taguen jih yang lon mita yang agak kreatif siangen cupo @cicisaja.

Omen... @el-nailul😁 han loen turi bak birah nyan.. keubit loen peugah. Han tom loen eu.. kadang na meurumpok yoh ta jak meu'en u glee yoh manyak, tapi saweub sabee keudroe2 haba so peugah. Pat jeut ta mita bak birah nyan teuma? Bek ilee... away na ureung ba u rumoh dari lhok nibong keu ubat gaki bapak loen.. tapi han loen teumeung kalin saweub ka loenbwo u banda.

Jadi ijih oun raya2 meuban yaa.. peu nan ilmiah jih? Ka salah laju loen.. miseu talas ka jeulaih aju ukheu lagee boh bi. Pat timoh teuma bak birah nyan? Bineh krueng nyeh?

Nan ilmiah hana lon tuoh mita, karena hana lon tupue bahasa indoneh jih, ijih timoh bak daerah yang sejuk dan agak rimbun, timoh liar lam uteun, Lam glee jantho na lon teumeung chit bak nyan awai. jalan KKA u Pondok Baru awai watee mantong ji buka phon lhee lon kalon chit, jih meu bungon dan bak jih coklat. lagee pembanding bak foto na lon boeh chit hina, oun jih raya dan agak tegak, hana teuleung that, kecuali karap layee.

neu ci cok gamba bungong nyang leubeh jelaih keulayi beuh, biasa jih miseu na deuh gamba bungong akan leubeh mudah loen seutot nan jih.. sang karap hi bungong atra jie muekat bak keudee bungong atawa nyang tom loen kalon di tanah tingal, nteuk loen co search keudroe. nyo ka suwah jak cop kaso dilee... malam jumát rupa jih.. hahahahah. mudah2an gata meunang lom kali nyou.. han jeut loen ikot seureuta.. hana bahan sagai sekitar komplek nyou, suwah jak u bogor... teungoh sibok peu siap bapak bang dipo jak ek haji tanggai 9, kakeuh... meumada ngon pehtem mantong dilee.

lagee nyoe deuh jih..

DSC_0008.jpg

nyan on jih, bungong jih lagee nyoe

DSC_0010.jpg

bak jih lagee nyoe

DSC_0031.jpg

Kaaa... preih siat loen mita😂 nyou kop bereih museu ta peugot tulesan khusus. Sayang loen hana gamba spesific. Nyou na tom loen kaloen bak padum pat... tapi ji pula jeut keu tanaman hias lagee bak keladi dari mexico haree😂😂 suwah peutamong bak daftar tanaman survival bila tersesat di gunung.. nak bek ji pajoh bungong edelweiss

keladi mexico yang oen jih cincang nyoeh? iya lon kalon bungong jih lagak memak nyoe tacok ta pula di leun rumah, selain jeut keuh makanan lagak chit ke hiasan taman, nyan ka jadeh sang lon pula

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68