Cooking: Rendang is a traditional way of preserving food for long period

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

4hgfrtyzhi.jpg

As I have mentioned few days ago on my post, I cooked for a thousand (less or more) invitee, in a wedding party of my friend. So, this time I would like to share you a complete way and recipe of Rendang. Rendang is well-known as one of most famous food from Minang Kabau (West Sumatera), I don’t really know when it was invented or who is the first man behind the invention of Rendang. But, in Minang Kabau, Rendang is something “must” have in any ceremonial/fiesta or celebration, because it all about culture. We can find the best Rendang in some famous restaurant in Minang Kabau such as, Lamun Ombak, Minang Saiyo. Gon Raya, and many others. The fact is, each of them has specific secret recipe of Rendang. But, in general they cook Rendang as it is for the symbol of their traditional food.

x5fdks3wbw.jpg
It is how does it look like after 4 hours on the heat, the coconut milk has started to transform into sticky oil and it needs to be cooked for another 2 hour before adding the beef

I have no doubt that Rendang has delicious taste and special aroma, yet it can be preserved for weeks out of refrigerator. It is because the method of cooking, and the ingredients are very special. In Aceh, we have different way of preserving the beef for long time beside of Rendang, the call it “Sie Reuboh” (Boiled Beef). How to make “Sie Reuboh”? I will share it next time. Talking about Rendang, is talking about cooking patience, because it needs to cook for long time with very careful way of managing the heat. Let’s talk about it!

Preparation

59afsevwse.jpg

To cook Rendang, first of all you need to have a large amount of heavy coconut milk, that is the key of success of cooking rendang, and please remember no water at all. A big crock/cooking pot depend on how many kilograms of beef, and last thing is wooden fire. It is necessary to understand the reason behind of wooden fire, because we will need to have certain amount of ember to finalize the cooking (in case of cooking large quantity of rendang.

Ingredients for 20 kg beef

8ag5kxz1xn.jpg

• 20 kg beef sliced (medium size 2x5x5 cm)
• 60 ltr of heavy coconut milk (2.5 ltr for 1 kg beef, if you cook in small quantity)
• 300 gr galangals
• 300 gr ginger
• 500 gr Onion
• 300 gr Garlic
• 3 kg Red Chilies (250 gr fresh red chili for 1 kg beef and not need to add cayenne if you don’t like spicy)
• 250 gr cayenne pepper
• 100 gr turmeric
• 50 gr nutmeg
• 75 gr coriander
• 50 gr white pepper
• 50 gr Bay leaves
• 10 cm cinnamon
• 30 gr star seed
• 10 gr cardamom
• 50 gr lemongrass
• 20 gr Turmeric leaves
• 20 gr Curry leaves
• 20 gr lime leafs
• 300 gr Salt
• 75 ml Vinegar/lime juice

xef5p1wc6l.jpg

Cooking Method

• Cook the coconut milk, while preparing the spices. (70 ltr of coconut milk are produce from about 200 coconuts)

• Grind these spices well:

  1. 300 gr galangal
  2. 300 gr ginger
  3. 500 gr Onion
  4. 300 gr Garlic
  5. 3 kg Red Chili (250 gr fresh red chili for 1 kg beef and not need to add cayenne if you don’t like spicy)
  6. 250 gr cayenne pepper
  7. 100 gr turmeric
  8. 50 gr nutmeg
  9. 75 gr coriander
  10. 50 gr white pepper

• Add all finely ground spices into the coconut milk, and put all the rest of ingredients into it
• Cook all ingredients and stirred evenly once in a while, for the first 3 hours cook it with normal heat.
• It can take shorter time for smaller quantity of the coconut milk
• It is necessary to cook the coconut milk with the ingredients really well, until the coconut oil come out
• After cooking for 6 hours the quantity of the coconut milk would remain 1/3 of the first amount, and the coconut oil has been seen cover the rendang sauce.
• Add the beef and reduce the heat. Simmer the beef in the heavy Rendang sauce until all the coconut milk become oil, while stirring it carefully.
• All the process could take about 8-9 hours with that quantity ( I took about 8 hours). But, cooking small quantity could take only 4-5 hours.
• The best result is when Rendang has dark brown color and dry sauce in heavy coconut oil.

Please note: Not only beef can be served as Rendang, but many kind of veggies such as, casava leaves, bamboo shoot, casava root, potatoes, red peanut, and fishesh.

Normally, preparing rendang is a day before the party to ensure the quality. I cooked the Rendang in my home a day before the party. That is my recipe of cooking rendang, but another cooker may have little different way of cooking as well as slightly different ingredients.

Well, that is my story behind my absence on steemit, besides I still have another story as I have said on my previous post. Thank you for keeping your support on my blogs. I hope this recipe is useful for you.

With my best regard

@el-nailul

Hope for the best and prepare for the worst

5whcwh2cf5.pngPlease joint us on discord channel at https://discord.gg/DJQkJBY


Mari bergabung dengan kami di discord channel : https://discord.gg/78DZ3YQ

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Sort:  

OMG!!! I miss a good rendang!!! I'm going back to my hometown in a few days time and I will definitely go look for rendang there!

ahahahaha....I will give a little try to the cute kitty...

You can get a plenty in Malaysia @zord189, enjoy your hometown my friend

This is my all-time favourite. But I don't cook due to the long list of ingredients 😋. Always eat out... And I am glad we have alot of this at Malaysia 😄

sure that is, I remember when I visited my friend somewhere in Johor Baru few years ago (actually my office was in Ampang Road), my friend asked me to cook for 2 kg of the beef and he give me every thing I need to cook it. He said that he could easily find it in the market every day.

Can you come and cook this here

sure i would love to cook, if I am close enough to your place :D, saloom

Dear @cicisaja,

Perhaps, we can scale this down to let's just say, 1/2 kg of beef for 2 people. Is that possible? Because, I wanted to try your recipe after this crazy week is done- exams, travel and the Chinese New Year Preps around the corner.

I think that this will be a great addition to our food and, is it possible that instead of cooking on wood, can we cook it on charcoal? How many hours again? 4 hours?

Please let me know other final details I need to tweak so I can gather them and prepare cooking this.

Take care!

Anne

Hello @nurseanne84 😉 off course we can scale it down😊 but you'd better asked the real chef here @el-nailul😆 I promoted his post, i have my own recipe for half and a kilogram beef meat☺

fire it away. @cicija! I am honestly interested only to cook homemade style rendang. hehehehe but, I will also ask @el-nailul so, I can cook the "chef" level rendang. hehehe

Ahaha...that really easy to cook in small quantity, but I suggest you to cook about 1 kg, because you will be able to keep it for few days, and any time you want to eat you just need to warm it up for little while. the recipe is same:
• 1 kg beef sliced (medium size 2x5x5 cm or as you like)
• 2-2.5 ltr of heavy coconut milk (Minimum 2 ltr)
• 30 gr galangals
• 30 gr ginger
• 50 gr Onion
• 30 gr Garlic
• 200-250 gr Red Chilies (250 gr if you like little spicy fresh red chili for 1 kg beef and not need to add cayenne if you don’t like more spicy)
• 20 gr cayenne pepper
• 10 gr turmeric
• 10 gr nutmeg
• 5 gr coriander
• 1 tsp white pepper (1/2 tea spoon pepper powder)
• 5 pcs Bay leaves
• 3 cm cinnamon
• 5 pcs star seed
• 5 pcs cardamom
• 1pc lemongrass
• 1 pc Turmeric leaves
• 10 pcs Curry leaves
• 5 pcs lime leafs (daun jeruk purut)
• 1 tbsp Salt (as needed)
• 10 ml Vinegar/1 lime juice (as needed)

That is the ingredients for cooking 1 kg, if you like to add red bean, you are please to do so, add red bean (red peanut) 30 minutes before the beef. Then you need to cook the coconut milk with the ingredient for 1 hour with normal heat, and then another 1/2 an hour with lower heat (simmer), until the coconut oil come out and cover the surface before you add the beef. Good luck @nurseanne84.

ahiii.... thank you for promoting my post kak @cicisaja

😂😂😂 it just a PIF should do to each other😉 though you don't need it😆

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Uhhmmmm... yummmy😲😱😨😍 Rendang is the most looking and waiting food in a wedding party 😁 because no bones in Rendang 😉

Asai ka na rendang ka hase acara, nyoe di padang yang di rendang, reubong jampu boh ubi dan on ubi, asai ka na nyan ka bereh mandum. Sie hanya untuk tamu kehormatan.

😂😂😂 padahai nyang geu peugah tamu kehormatan syit han jeut pajoih wungjot sie lee.. saweub ka keunong hipertensi ngen kolesterol dum 😂😂😂. Brat meu alat kali nyou yaa..

Nyan keuh, yang mangat2 di beuot ke awak yang ka hanjeut pajoh lee, chit ka meunan adat bak hi

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank looks amazing! By looking at the ingredients I'm sure that it tastes fantastic as well!

That is not that much time to prepare the ingredient here, because those all are available in local market, but for sure it will be little difficult to find in your place.

That's such a long time

Posted using Partiko Android

Yum yum beef rendang, I always find beef rendang tasted better than chicken rendang... haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.64
ETH 2393.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64