[Free write] Growing speed

in #esteem4 years ago

So I was asked by my colleague, regarding what sort of exercise I'm doing now. And my answer to him is exactly what I'm doing with #fitness2020.


Image from Pixabay

He was laughing so hard, almost fell down from his chair when he hear I started my workout routine with 5 reps. It's not funny, you know that. I have never really been an athlete all my life, never been I really active in sports other than the few years in high school I was participating in a basketball team, which we had to sponsor ourself for the clothing, to rent a basketball court.

There is a saying that goes back to Milo of Croton: lift a calf everyday and when you grow up, you can lift a cow. The story goes that Milo, a famous wrestler in ancient Greece, gained his immense strength by lifting a newborn calf one day when he was a boy, and then lifting it every day as it grew. In a few years, he was able to lift the grown cow. The calf grew into a cow at about the rate that Milo grew into a man. A rather freakish man apparently, since grown cows can weigh over 1000 lb. The point is, the calf grew old along with the boy.
Originally from Ribbonfarm

My idea is simple, I don't need to try to carry a cow now. I know for a fact that the beginning few days I will be all overly excited, I don't even need to lift a cow, I'll probably spend time catching the cow and or gotten a broken back by trying to carry the cow. That oftenly happened to me over the past 10 years where my bodyweight yoyoing drastically. When I'm too heavy, I do crazy exercises and try to lose them in very short time. Or, I take MLM sales products and get myself drinking only fluid as my food. And what after that is, it's not sustainable. Immediately I fall sick due to lack of energy, or I injured myself doing excessive exercises.

I'm not young anymore, I can't even lift a calf, but I believe the concept still works as long I'm still alive. Workout can be just like my #steem life, doing in multiple social media, trying to get fit and get paid at the same time. I can start slow and start small, but that doesn't mean I will not grow big. I rather keep things simple and I can remember to do on a daily basis. Keep moving, keep adding 5 reps everyweek, except for February and November. I will come back to that again later.

So, don't worry about me. Even if the 5 reps compounding workout doesn't change my bodyshape, or may be not effectively make me a beach body, it's ok. Atleast I've been posting regularly on my workout update, and have been enjoying making video for the whole year.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

吃了吗?快来使用超级好用的steemit客户端---Partiko,这个可是我们华人团队开发的哦。假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

Thank you for your support. Here's a !shop as token of appreciation.

Hi~ 金鱼佬!
@bossku has gifted you 1 SHOP!

Currently you have: 50 SHOP

View or Exchange SHOP Please go to steem-engine.com.

Are you bored? Play Rock,Paper,Scissors game with me!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44