You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Check out What The Vegetables Seller Has In His Moto-cart!

in #esteem6 years ago

hahaha.. we're melanesian right, we have so many same word like mangaon = mangan (java) = makan(Indonesia) = eat,
salamat = selamat = save/happy, I used to watched Philipine's drama when I was a kid, tagalog dialogue for sure.. and we didn't quite understand the language, but the sound of the words so sexy to me. I think that many people of Moro also speak melayu or malay. so.. the word for Tapey or Tape or Tapai refers to the same thing, what about fermented cassava or ubi/uli in bahasa? do you know it? the process is the same with rice wine but using cassava roots.

Sort:  

Oh, I did not realize that we have the same, or almost the same, terminologies. Yes, the sample words have the same meaning in our dialects here. The funny thing is, most are just dialects and not in our national language.

Yes, my mother also used to ferment cassava though we consume them after few days like your tempe. We don't keep them for long like the rice wine. I think my mother once said that fermenting the cassava is good at early stage and not for making wine. She also made strawberry wines.

I think it depends on interaction of our ancestors, the northern part of Philipina is the closest to Indonesia and Malaysia, so maybe few families have a blod relation and shared the same culture through words or certain habits too.

You're right😊 fermented cassava better eat when it still fresh and did'nt produce much water too. Never seen the strawberry wine... is it using special mold to make it? What about bilimbi... do you have bilimbi trees around?

My mother used the same fermenting powder with strawberry wines. It was good, only that it is certainly much sweeter than rice wine.

What bilimbi? You mean this very sour fruit? We call it balimbing.
images.jpeg
Source:

My playmates and I used to climb its tree when I was young. We had contest and brag to each other who can keep up with its very sour taste with hot chili. I once won but that was a history because I don't like hot (I mean the chili) food. It was my pride talking when I bet on the challenge. We never had it fermented though. I don't think my mother even knew that it can be fermented.

No that one.. it is also called belimbing or star fruits averrhoa carambola for the fruit in your picture and we ate it as Rujak or Fruit salad. But this👇

image

This is also called belimbing or belimbing sayur, averrhoa bilimbi. Very sour but also good for your health. And the Acehnese will sun-dried it then
Blend it with chili, onion and shrimps with sliced lemongrass and kaffir lime leaves to make "asam udeung"

Well.. may I know which part of philipina are you from? If it can not be fermented.. but surely can be sweetened😉 i made some post about it before. But will you make strawberry wine post... i need to see the process

I don't remember seeing here that fruit on your photo. Though it somehow looks like balambing. Or maybe I have seen it somewhere but did not really pay attention. I'll try to catch it in the market some time...

I was born in Zambales state and we moved to Benguet state after my sixth grade. The family is still there but I've been living here in Metro Manila due to work. Now you can check our map and have an idea of the locations. 😊

Will check out then.. your country has the most number of provinces ☺ though Indonesia has 17.000 islands but the provinces only 34. And I think Sulu Island still has a blood relation Sultan with Indonesia and Malaysia.

I don't wonder if we have some common words due to our region relationship in the past. Really nice to know you @macoolette😉 you're my first Philipines friend on Steemit. I've never been to Philipine because I always refuse to join the peace delegation of Civil Society Organization from Aceh. Many friends have been there to learnt and exchanged experience on building a peace. Thank you for sharing😘 will check out your featured bloggers for the pifc this week.

Believe it or not, I do not memorize thus I do not know how many provinces we have unless I check Google. We were required to know all of those during my fifth grade but it is one of the many things that did not stay in my head.

It's good to know you too @cicisaja. 😊 Who knows we will discover more from each other about our countries. Maybe you should join your friends when they come over here. 😊

Now I wish I had joined them at that time, I'm leaving my old place where I have so many friends and activities with the community after I married to my other half 2 and half years ago. At least I have Manny Pacquio fans around me... hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26