Can Mountains Soothe Your Soul? Boulder Colorado mountainmonday

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

What looks like mountains in Boulder Colorado are really the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. @bxlphabet traveled to this state of his birth when he was 18 - the summer after High School Graduation.

I told him I would pay for a trip anywhere he wanted to go and this is where he chose.

The original idea was the he would stay in Denver and reunite with his "dad." This man had only seen him twice as a baby and never took and interest or tried to pay child support. So I left with my son for California when he was one year old.

Though I had his email, and told him his son was coming, his dad refused to see him. Caleb was very disappointed after trying a few times and then heard that Boulder might be a good place to go for the rest of the trip.

This was a place near where he was staying in Boulder, and he hiked to it most days. He told me the path you see in this photo is really more like a road and the scale of this photo is bigger than it appears.

kmwdxruh3y.jpg

In the lover right you see stairs someone has biult to this massive rock formation.

edj5xdbnma.jpg

And the view down below to town. @bxlphabet was staying in a place just off to the left out of view.

qkqxh342u8.jpg

Crazy rock spire!

uz7qz7nfk4.jpg

A bit closer as he tried to find a way to climb up it.

mx2unkfenm.jpg

No mountain in this shot; but a scene from part of his walk right outside the motel.

xuxckufeuo.jpg

Boulder was a very renewing place for Caleb. He made friends and enjoyed it there. The stress was gone from trying to reach out and contact his dad and the nature was calming.

I encouraged him to look for work and try to find a life in this beautiful place. But he missed California and wanted to go back home and be with the kids he grew up with instead.

We had no idea so many of them would die such tragic deaths over the next few years. Or that I would lose the place he had always lived and that we would both be homeless. Or that his PTSD would grow in severity and become so much more debilitating.

You can never know the future or go back to the past. Only today is with us now and this is time time we have to strive.

My text today is prompted by my son's photos. I hope he will return very soon and show us more of his talent.

@bxlphabet was using a point and shoot camera for this trip.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

wow beautiful photographs of rock..
Thanks for share with us..

You're welcome. so glad you like them :)

Lovely shots - it's sometimes hard to understand the vast scale of a mountain when looking at a photo! Thanks for pointing out that road, I would have thought it was a path.

I've only been to Boulder once, and I was just driving through. In a full-on blizzard. Don't believe I saw a thing. I had just visited the north rim of the Grand Canyon where there was also a blizzard, and I didn't see a thing there either!

Thanks for posting in #mountainmonday! U+R :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91