You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Twitter Matter to STEEM and its Dapps?

in #esteem6 years ago

Hi @fitinfun

The early days of twitter were great... real conversations with real people! I amassed a fair following on twitter and it used to be an integral part of my marketing efforts.

Nowadays, 90% of the people I know (celebrities and lay people alike) just use it for broadcasting. Even when I'm approached to be an influencer on campaigns, the customer only requests Instagram, YouTube and occasionally still Facebook too. Twitter is dead & Facebook is dying (in my and many other people's opinions)... which is why I love platforms like Steemit - it reminds me a lot of the real interactions I got on "early twitter".

Having said that, I DO still broadcast on twitter and would like to query some points you made:
1

You do not click through to links
"...This makes twitter think you are interested in someone other than yourself."

a) Why would twitter care about this?
b) Do you have any evidence of this
c) What is the effect if "Twitter thinks I care about others"

2

You do not follow people at all
(Bad plan for twitter. If you have 1000 followers and you follow 20, twitter does not like you)

a) I've always believed it to be the opposite:
a i) When new people see your account for the first time, you immediately garner extra respect the bigger the difference is between following & followers ... i.e. "this guy must be cool because all these people are following him in spite of him not following them back"
a ii) Nobody can realistically listen to everything that more than a couple hundred people say... so why bother following them, if all you want is a followback (and most likely from someone else that isn't going to see your tweets anyway)

b) Do you have any evidence of this.
c) What is the effect if "Twitter doesn't like me"

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47