#beersaturday: Latitude 42 Michigan Honey Amber

in #esteem5 years ago

This is my post for this weeks #beersaturday challenge hosted by @detlev.

Looking at Latitude 42's beer list I am not sure I have ever tried any of their beers. That is until this one. Each year for Christmas my brothers in law and I buy three six packs of a certain beer. We then exchange the six pack so that each person goes home with three different six packs of something new to try.

This was one of the beers that I got this Christmas from one of them. In this case though, it was actually a four pack because the cans are 16 oz. instead of the standard 12 oz. you see in the states.

The name is pretty spot on about what it is. They describe it as an American Amber on their website having an Alcohol By Volume(ABV) of 5.5% and an International Bitters Unit(IBU) of 33.

I could smell the honey right away when I emptied the can with this practially perfect pour.

I found it to be very smooth with just a hint of hops and heavy on the honey flavor. I used to not care for amber beers that much, but I am glad that my taste buds have finally come around. Through the course of the night I easily enjoyed three of the four cans without feeling too full or like I crossed a line.

@mrsbozz had a sip and felt that it was quite bitter. She is more used to traditional American Lagers though, so I can understand where she was coming from. As long as she isn't too keen on them, that just means I don't have to share!

Their cans are pretty cool and like the name give you a pretty good idea of what to expect from the beer that you are about to drink.

If I didn't know the name of the beer given the bee on the can I would guess it had honey in it. Either that or it was something that was going to "sting" me and leave me sorry I drank it the next day. As I said, it was definitely the former in this case.

Based out of Portage, MI just South of the college town of Kalamazoo (home of Western Michigan University), Latitude 42 might be a cool place to visit sometime. It actually looks like they have a couple of taprooms based on their webpage.

If you don't mind a heavy honey flavor and you are looking to try something new, you might want to grab a four pack of these if you see them in the store.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

The can is seriously cool, I generally was not fond of Flavoured beers but with a touch of honey flavor it sounds like one i would like

Yeah, I really like the can too. The good thing about the flavor is it doesn't taste artificial like some fruit beers I have tried.

Posted using Partiko Android

thats why I generally avoided fruit flavored ones I found they tasted so artificially I just could not stand them

I will never understand this odd but pervasive obsession with beer. Or cigarettes. Or drugs. Or sports. Never.

You sound like my dad :) It is definitely an acquired taste. I used to hate it. The craft brewing landscape has become pretty diverse and the art involved is pretty impressive.

I know. In some ways the artistry (and snobbishness) reminds me of wine connoisseurs. I'm glad there are people who want to produce ... and people who love to consume.

If they were depending on me for a living, though, they'd starve. I don't even like the smell of the stuff.

I hear you. It can be an acquired taste, I didn't used to like it. For some even the smell can bring back bad memories for all manner of reasons. It is definitely subjective.

Never tried honey beer, we get some awesome brews will have to look out for unusual ones over here @bozz

Great photography and presentation, good luck on @detlev #beersaturday

Thank you! It was definitely interesting. I tried mead one time and this actually tasted more like I thought mead would taste like than the actual mead did. Did you follow that? :)

Tried mead up in the UK and enjoyed the taste, with hot weather down south I drink light beers during summer and enjoy tasting dark beers during winter months.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.68% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 412 (02/26/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44