Good procrastination and Bad procrastination

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Procrastination is an interesting topic to discuss about. Most of the people will have the habit of procrastinating things. They either do it with purpose and end up saving tasks for future or they will be a bit lazy to take up tasks and work on it. Honestly, I'm also a victim of procrastination. A few days back I was having a discussion with my friend on this topic. We were in a mutual discussion on procrastination as my friend also mentioned that he was also procrastinating on lots of things. The discussion ended up with an understanding of good procrastination and bad procrastination. We understood that procrastination was important on certain aspects but it can really be difficult on certain situations to handle.

w18npme0fw.png

Procrastination leads to forgetting things

If you keep procrastinating on certain tasks, there is also a high possibility that you will end up forgetting what you planned to do. If the task is associated with a deadline, then there is a high possibility that you will end up missing the deadline as well. This will not only provide a discomfort but it will also make you feel a bit low. Forgetting things can be really painful. Especially when you miss an important date or event, then it will affect even our mind and mood.

7l2k69q2es.png

Is it good to have procrastination?

Yes, I believe it is good to have. It is purely dependent on which task you are procrastinating. If you have a list of tasks in your mind, you will obviously have priorities set for those tasks. If you are working without setting priorities, then it will be difficult to manage. You will end up procrastinating without a proper reason and you will regret it. As the topic says, there are two types of procrastination good and bad. Good procrastination is something if procrastinated can give a value. Bad procrastination is something like postponing an important task. It will create a bad impact. People are usually filled with both positive energies as well as negative energy. In some cases, we spread negative energy even without our knowledge. Some people spread negative energy even with their knowledge. But they really want to change themselves. In such cases, procrastination can really help. This can be taken as an example of good procrastination.

2yekeh36rd.png

How to handle bad procrastination?

We will obviously have procrastination as a habit. We really want to change but we might find it difficult to change ourselves. In such cases, we can go for tasking ourselves. I have started asking myself for the past few days. I came across an interesting app in Google Play store.

bwfc0h3uba.png

This app is from Microsoft. The features of this app are very simple and effective. I can have a master To Do list and assign it to a day. This helps me track all my tasks and follow up regularly. For the past few days, I have been able to handle some of my procrastination with the help of these apps. I have seen people using diaries to track their tasks and manage their tasks. It is also an effective way to manage procrastination. If you keep things written somewhere and go through them regularly, it will prevent you from forgetting it.

Let me know your thoughts on procrastination in the comments section.

Image Source: [1], [2], [3]


la13vcqc7e.gif

Sort:  

I know I am a procrastinator and I am not sure I am the good type but all the tasks get done when they are required so I can't be that bad at it lol...

I remember someone telling me once that:

Procrastination is a lot like masturbation, it feels good at the time, but in the end, you are only fu*king yourself...

I have read this quote in one of your previous posts. And I also expected you would say that @insideoutlet.

I guess procrastination works well for masturbation maybe. If we keep procrastinating it, we will not end up fu*king ourselves. 😂😀 So this becomes an example of good procrastination.

Haha, I'll take the good in it then. 😁

delaying work is the most boring thing for me. what else is waiting for the uncertain. a post the very interesting friend

Sometimes delaying a particular work can also help. If you have plans to scold someone over the phone, you can maybe procrastinate it to some other occasion. In such cases, delaying can really be helpful. Thanks for the comments @muftii.

I must say that this is most important thing that one should pay attention to but sadly it is also the most overlooked thing too..

True, @inuke. At times even I don't pay enough attention to this. 😆 Gradually improving my bad procrastination.

perfect topic..we should follow to do...

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I came accross an interesting app in Google Play store.
It should be across instead of accross.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bala41288 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29