Cinema history in Elland

in #esteem6 years ago

Today (for my 33rd birthday) we visited Rex cinema in Elland, Halifax UK.

image

It's an independent gem of a local cinema that's been operating for over 100 years.
It's one of the oldest purpose built, structurally unaltered cinemas in the country.
It was built in 1912 and opened as the Picture House on 12 December that year.

image

It's so beautifully dated but in a completely traditional and charming way.###

It is well run and well loved, and plays a variety of mainstream films at an amazing price (£5.50 adult ticket!) That's normal price - not a discount. Beat THAT Odeon.

It's always busy and attracts people for the good selection of films and the heritage of the venue

image

image

The cinema still has an half time interval where the red curtain closes, the lights come up and they bring out ice cream (I LOVE that)

When I visited as a kid I remember that organ at the front being played by an organist before the film came on.

image

It obviously doesn't have any of the modcons of a contemporary multiplex cinema - but if you rock up to the Rex and expect that vibe then you're a numpty.

image

Today we went to see Small Foot, the new Warner Broa animated movie about Big Foot discovering humans. Both us and the kids loved it.

image

So next time you want a slice of real cinema history and want to see a good film, drop by the Rex cinema in Elland, Yorkshire, and have your pants charmed off.

http://elland.nm-cinemas.co.uk/elland-history

I read before the screening that you can HIRE the entire cinema if you like.. So if I ever make a film, I'm 100% having the premiere at the Rex!

(I'm conscious that this whole post probably sounds like a big paid plug for the place but I promise this is just me shouting about how ace it is!)

Sort:  

Happy birthday! Cool theater. Reminds me of the Pantageous Theater on Hollywood blvd with that organ.

Ooooh cool, ace to hear there's one still operating from the same era in LA.
Cheers dude!

Happy Birthday @ashtv!!!! I just got news that my baby nephew was born today, so today is now doubly special :D

I love the sound of this place, and totally see why you'd pick it as your birthday family date of choice. The whole half time interval shebang is awesome for a movie, my girls would love that! We'd definitely check this place out when we get a chance to visit :)

Enjoy the rest of your birthday!!

Congratulations on your baby nephew! What a great day to have been born :)

Yes we picked it for a few reasons for an afternoon out; it's local, good value and full of character.
It even smells old. It's a real attack on the senses!

Thank you!!

Yea great choice indeed, awesome that you guys have that near you :)

Happy birthday buddy. Love the look of that cinema. In Nottingham, we have an old place named the Savoy, but us locals call it "The Flea pit" due to its old reputation. The place is really nice and the seats are just like the ones in your pictures, they even have double seats for couples to share.
Thanks for sharing the experience and great to see more UK folk on steemit.

Cheers dude. Oh yes, I can Imagine somewhere being endearingly called The Flea Pit!
Likewise, good to see you're UK based and active - not many of us eh?

Great start to your msg. It's nice to be able to talk UK slang for once :D
No, us Brits seem to be a bit thin on the ground, but not for lack of trying. I even held a steemit night at a local pub but still no takers... I have signed a few people onto the site but they left after a while. I've just sorted out a profile for a friend but he is Italian, so I guess that one doesn't count. Have you had much luck signing folk up to steemit?

Great idea with local pub sign up! Although I guess that doesn't immediately mean they will be an active part of the community. Worth a try though!

Funnily enough, I've met up today with a musician pal and have mentioned to him (for the 3rd time) that he should do Steemit. He's got loads of content, and he could do with being rewarded.

So he's signing up asap and I'm going to mentor him on how to do it for a bit. Fingers crossed!
I've only managed two other sign ups - both mates, who seem interested and but aren't active. They just probably need me to sit down over a brew and show them what's what.

Music is always a good angle, but it whatever your passion it seems like a no-brainer to me. When you work out what the secret is then please tell me as, at the moment, it seems like a Marmite situation when it comes to signing folk up.

Keep on keeping on though buddy.

That's appealing and sublime :-)

Happy Birthday bro.

Cheers dude!

Happy birthday to you man!

Thank you kindly!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75