Getting Out of Your Comfort Zone

in #esteem6 years ago

qmucgfan9u.png

I have heard a lot of the phrase "getting out of your comfort zone" or "get out of your comfort zone" from individuals that are brave and strong enough to try something new in order to grow as a person, as a professional, or as someone who have dared to leave and risk a good professional career for a better but uncertain one.

Most individual like me are afraid to leave a good career because I am the head of my family, I am the bread winner, my family relies on my monthly income.

We are always conscious about our job because we do not want to lose it. Losing a job for a bread winner like me will be very tough.

But I have seen and heard somebody who have done it before. One good example is my older sister. She is a former accountant on a private company. She just recently resigned to pursue a business career.

Based on what I have seen, read, and heard, I think "getting out of comfort zone" is subjective. An individual is not going to drastically leave her/his comfort zone (a good career) in exchange for something better but uncertain until proven otherwise.

Take for example my older sister. She has been an accountant on a private company for more than a decade before she finally calls it quits.

She did not do it overnight. She's been having a buy & sell endeavor and a restaurant for more than two years.

Before she decided to leave her professional career, she’s been able to triplicate her income as a professional with her restaurant and buy & sell business.

Before she resigned she talked to me about it and ask me to write a resignation letter.

I told her that if her restaurant and buy & sell business are now stable and very much able to support her family she can resign and be a full-time businesswoman.

As you can see, my older sister has got out of her comfort zone to be a businesswoman. She does not have a prior experience in entrepreneurship before resigned.

But she did it.

She have seen what her new endeavor can bring to the table that's why she has able to leave her comfort zone without second thought and with no regret at all.

As of now my sister is her own boss. She can go wherever she want and managing her business at the comfort of her home, what more, she now has her own car which she can't afford to buy for being an employee.

Indeed, the popular quote "No one has got rich for being a company employee" holds true at least to my older sister.

See, getting out of comfort zone is subjective. A bread winner will have tougher time in doing it because of the responsibilities at hand.

A single individual can jump ship anytime they want. I bet you have seen someone that does not stay in a company for a long period of time.

A professional employee will only leave the comfort zone unless it will be replaced with a better and more secure endeavor than the current one.

I wish to duplicate what my sister has done

I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father and a husband.

357u2dlv22.png

t2igarqmc5.gif
s6g5fdmpr8.png
2b61yhskz8.png

Sort:  

thank you for the information, hopefully useful for readers. @afterglow

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54276.23
ETH 2281.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35