Why doesn't esteem have a web app or desktop app

in #esteem-feedback7 years ago

Esteem is a great app but it still has a lot of things that can be improved. No doubt that @goodkarma is taking all the feedback from the community and the release cycles are getting shorter. But desktop app is one that is holding me back.

https://steemit-production-imageproxy-web.s3.amazonaws.com/U5du7ovmaRghVh14uWfLM8rkSfPAMES?AWSAccessKeyId=ASIAJEBKBTOPKUMNBELQ&Expires=1500155994&Signature=19Lix011xB574Qck8Xwtoi5W%2FJU%3D&x-amz-security-token=FQoDYXdzEBkaDBPD%2BYxLEw8Vy8iDeiK3A1qh8cbquk17yoAyi7P69S9tdKBbVNGSOkCX3eNMWj1TYpoyYNfPX1JWJgQDKhl63v81hep1aMadRKyoIAcxl%2BOJBizObpeYi%2BapSx7G1UqIUDoRmRiIJ3VHh7p6a24NmtX8UG71LS3z9TR9q8AiT15FDrjT8C%2Fhtl9KHtFQ%2F0QRU4zkq353ulH4LHuaIfPo5fDiuNh8SGe1XIa104NDAgqpmOtfg%2BCkITkyPeujt2xEFX3DS2nmKVFOaLId0e7Flcbtl7OtUDl4VwTJFE34YHen4c6kUZtovuHTvqJwfuNuaTL3JPysqOsUfViZICuj3X9Zw01nQXyWhs%2FAYtQ0Q8o3rDmfJg%2B1kC6Qc6phn%2B6GO54zdo2O0zsVpGqr1fSlLrmBjO02uTRA512aPpHz3atDdj4ddDBHqgWZsaIH0upyTRP9GT%2BcAQdNPvJo9Pfui3bK8rRtWJq1b11KfJCl40OdGsujEX3%2FJsnTIcGJ33fwwm8kNbWxuTkGkRR7sicg8IxpliqGmjfqG19CvcdRvgug303MZoXlV5nFLeUcX2Dq%2FBjd6mZLjg144QO9QDpt4RlvgKivx34ow%2FyoywU%3D

I generally switch between desktop and mobile. Whenever I think of an idea I use this app for making notes or sometimes create rough drafts. But somehow I am not yet fully comfortable posting articles from the app directly. I think this might be first or second post at max. I find typing with app keyboard, proof reading on app and checking the preview on app as the pain points in addition to the few bugs I will list in my next post.

In all the above scenarios having a desktop app could be a solution. Since the app is almost ready I think it's good time to get the website or desktop app out. What do you guys think? What is your experience??

Sort:  

I agree with all of your points. I am really looking forward to the desk top app, specifically saving drafts and scheduling!! I want to be able to write multiple drafts and schedule them to post as I can on the mobile app.
Like you, I am uncomfortable with typing on my phone (some would say Iam no better on a keyboard!!) and would much rather see the post and a decent preview before I post.

Really looking forward to the desktop app!

Good to know that people are having same issues and are looking forward to these features. Let us hope this post reaches @good karma and he has bandwidth to work on desktop app as well.

I'm curious to know if you tried the eSteem's version 1 for Desktop? Does it serve any of your purpose?

I think desktop version is low on priority as there are already alternatives available for desktop users. But it's almost a monopoly on mobile platforms. And why would one like to sacrifice his / her 5% author rewards when all other versions are available for free?

For scheduling multiple posts, I think Streemian is a good tool. And probably there should be some way to email yourself all the drafts or rough sketches you saved on eSteem which you can access on your desktop. I dunno much as I've never used this app.

As far as typing is concerned, you can probably make good use of several voice to text apps on your mobile. But they may still require some proof reading. So I'd say you can get all the benefits on a Tab, currently.

Thanks for the suggestions. It worked to a certain extent. But I would still prefer a better desktop version

Sure. I didn't mean that these alternatives can replace a full-fledged desktop version. So did you check the version 1 of eSteem. Actually, I'm looking for a review for it. In case you have used it or are using it, I'd appreciate if you can create a post dedicated to its review. TIA!

Hey gokulnk, thank you for mention! Desktop and web apps are in progress and we are doing everything we can to make alpha version of app asap...

Can't wait for them :)

You pointed out my problem 2.

Writing is difficult, but i hope it gets better and developed through time.

Other than that loving it

I will try out the voice to text option in Google keyboard and see if that could be a solution ;)

Still don't feel comfortable using the app... But we will still give the developers little time to Inprove on it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81