How to prepare yourself for an Erasmus?

in #erasmus6 years ago

Hello, steemians,

I am back with an article about my future Erasmus and especially how to prepare yourself. As I am leaving for Finland next year I thought it would be a good article to explain how I prepare myself to leave in another country for a few months. I am going to give you a few tips to plan your Erasmus.


First of all, you need to prepare everything in advance to be sure to have a place to stay and to have the cheapest flight ticket possible. Don’t think you have plenty of time, time flies.

1. Choose your university program

First, choose a university with an interesting program! Take time to visit their website and their course program. Then read the description of every course and take the course you are attracted by.

2. Choose a good apartment

Choose a place to stay in advance to have the best apartment possible. Compare every agency to find the place that suits you. There is some campus where there are buildings reserved for Erasmus students. It is the case for me, I had to apply as soon as the application was opening to be sure to have a room. It is a good opportunity to meet other exchange students.

3. Ask for a scholarship

Some universities give you the opportunity to get a scholarship. Finland is an expensive country, so I get a good scholarship to help me with all the fees. If you are going outside of Europe, you have the Mercator scholarship. Ask your university to get some information on how to obtain the scholarship, it is worth it!

4. Visit some countries

If you have enough budget, take time during your Erasmus to travel. If it is possible for you, travel around the country where you are staying. There are some Erasmus organization that allow you to travel with others Erasmus. It is a good way to get to know other people.

5. Buy transport tickets earlier

Return tickets are cheaper, sometimes you have the opportunity to take flexible tickets, don’t hesitate If you want to stay longer or if you are not sure of your return date.

6. Take language classes

If you are stressed by the fact to speak another language like English for example, take some courses. There are free online courses to learn a language. You have a lot of tutorial on YouTube, watch your movies and tv-shows in English, it is a good exercise. Without subtitles of course 😉

7. The steps to enter the country

If you are going outside of Europe, you will need a passport and maybe a Visa. Make sure that all the papers are settled on time. The administration can take time, prepare in advance.

8. Search groups of exchange student on Facebook

A lot of students at the university use a Facebook group to communicate and to help each other. The person in charge of me in Finland had me join the group. You can ask everything on this kind of group and you can organize a meeting to get to know other exchange students.

9. Prepare your suitcase

Make a list of everything you have to take with you to be sure to not forget anything. Ask the tenant of the place you are going to stay if there are towels or bed sheets, … Sometimes it is possible to rent a pack with the minimum necessary.

10. Do not stress

Your Erasmus is going to be a great experience, so enjoy and don’t stress. It is going to be amazing and you will never forget your exchange trip.

I hope these tips about the Erasmus preparation will help you. If you have any advice don't hesitate. If like me, next year you will spend a semester abroad, enjoy and have fun!!!
See you soon with another subject steemians. Bye 😊

Sort:  

Really nice post........I agree with you......Your thoughts are very beautiful.....i appreciate this.... @jarendesta

thank you ;)

Never heard of an Erasmus until now lol

Good information

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Great post! However, I did an erasmus in Prague last year and I don't agree for one thing. Looking for an apartment before you go is a good thing to do but I don't thing it's the best idea to reserve one before going. It can be nice to visit the place before and to be sure it's not a scam (it's different if it's a room from the university). Personally I came one week before the start of the classes and I stayed in a hostel. During that week, I looked for a good flatshare with nice people. It's also a great experience to stay in a hostel!

I agree with you, i think it depend on the destination and the facilities that are available :)

Looking forward to my own Erasmus term in fall in Finland - your post made me smile :-)
We will have a lot of fun - although it's pretty unlikely we will meet I guess. Enjoy your stay, like I know I will!

Oh great, have fun!! I think it is going to be a great experience for both of us ! :-)

Is Erasmus like an exchange student programme? Which country are you going to?

yes, it is an exchange student programme, I am going to Finland :)

@jarendesta, do not forget to prepare mentally steel for an erasmus :)

My mental is prepared :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57