EOS closes first window with record-breaking amount of ETH raised

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

WOW

WOW

WOW


What else can I say? The first EOS distribution window of 200.000.000 EOS is almost done. With 10 minutes to go they raised 640.000 ETH, this is a record-shattering, mind blowing amount.
Let me say this again: $176,685,063$. How on earth and why and what does it all mean?

On the one hand it could mean that people bought in the FOMO like crazy. That an ICO that lasts A YEAR can still induce FOMO is maybe a bad sign but oh well.
It also means that people believe in this project and they want to signal their support. All my dev friends interested in the blockchain are really really expecting EOS to finally give them what they need to build great projects. They don't know how Dan is, what the price is doesn't matter..guys like @nadejde won't even calim their tokens!
I am unsure how many of the people sending eth here understand are like my friends. I am afraid most don't know how EOS will work and why it is unlike any ICOs before. Still, like ALL the other ICOs, the coins will be tradeable right away, so what's the difference anyway...

What's next?
Who knows. The ICO continues as normal, next window is open for a day and will distribute 2.000.000 EOS. That means that we will need at least 6400ETH contributed for the price to be par for the first day. From now on, that's what every day auction needs to raise for the price to stay at the level set by the first day. Is this possible?

Secondly - and to me, the most important part - EOS coins will be available on most exchanges. In truth, EOS coins MIGHT be available on most exchanges. That's a big part of this ICO promise, that the trading on exchange will be what keeps the price in check. As Dan himself says here:

Market will protect everyone if we can get them on exchange. I think there's little chance on exchanges not picking this coin giving how much they are worth though so we could be safe. If none pick it up it will be kind of lol. But come on, that's like...never gonna happen :)

The interesting this about this exchange - ICO rapport is that if the price on exchange falls, then it makes no sense to ever buy coins from the auction if there are already 6400eth in there ( you'd pay ICO price ). But then, those who already did will get cheaper coins. It's a like a fucking ouroboro!! The incentive is for everyone to be a rational agent in this game(theory) we all decided to play when we bought into EOS.

Ouroboros-Transparent.jpg

EOS ico in a badly photoshopped photo

Behavioral economy proves that people are not rational agents though so I am sure we'll see some really weird and downright stupid decisions from people :) Will be fun.

What's sure is that Dan right now must feel like a BOSSS. Cheers to you, Dan!

Sort:  

Great achievement for those who participate in step #0 of EOS ICO. I hope EOS will as successful as ones ICO.

Yup I just did that. Just bought about 18K Canadian in EOS. They posted earlier in the day they were offering EOS now and I jumper on it

If I buy EOS on Kraken can I move them from the exchange to myetherwallet..how? thanks

Should be able to

did you buy some presell EOS? Do you maybe know how many coins one get for 1ETH in presell? Thank you:)

Hi, ottobubenicek. I've bought some today from eos.io and had to pay 6 USD per EOS, the market price on bitfinex was 5 USD at that time, so be careful. ;) For details see my post: https://steemit.com/eos/@supastix/lesson-learned-don-t-buy-eos-from-eos-io-use-the-exchanges

Good post, Thanks for this info

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Well Just bought 9275 Units of EOS, wish me luck. I have plenty of faith in this platform. Wish me luck
https://steemit.com/eos/@fuckmylife/just-bought-5000-unis-of-eos-am-i-stupid-for-doing-so

Don't worry about it got scared when it tanked 35 % then after I sold it before it sky rocketed. I cant handle these huge swings. I had 5 chances to buy at 1.30 - 1.36. After selling at 1.45. But thought it was going to go back down to 1.00 . And it didn't and I lost out. which is typical. Why else do you think my name is FML.... FML

I have that fear of missing out but the price per coin is too high imo. This is a yet to launch coin valued at an insanely high amount. We're talking about top 10 crypto pricing pre-launch!

amazing, eh ? :D

If this works out it definitely will be! We'd be talking about a top 5 coin for sure.

Agreed, the market cap is froth and totally unproven. I believe this will tank a good percentage like Wall Street IPOs do right after release.

Note: This is not a commentary on the quality of EOS, just the pricing.

"people are not rational agents though"

I only wish they would stipulate to this in graduate economics degree programs.

they start to now :D

Better late than never! =)

Great tutorial!

I'm using the trezor wallet connecting to MEW following the steps you're showing, but everytime I push the Generate Transaction Button it shows on the bottom of my PC - Window Closed!

I resetted my browser already; using Brave, Safari and Chrome - but it's always the same...

Do you have any helpful tips so that I can solve this issue and transfer my EOS-tokens to my wallet?!?!

THNX!

Hi. This looks like some sort of javascript error on MEW. Do you have any restrictions on your browsers? Stuff like add blockers or clamped down security?

You're absolutely brillant!

It was the Ad-Blocker! I was trying now for 4-5 hours to get this issue solved what you solved within a few seconds... - I'm really thankful for your time, your knowledge and that you were willing me to help!!!

I send you 10 steem with a BIG smile on my face and wish you the best!

THNX!

You're welcome:) Glad I could help.

A dedication to you! ;-)

Cheers mate! Happy to help:)

Hmm... I think I'll take my chances on being able to pick this up for cheaper than in initial ICO price. Either during one of the daily auctions or from an exchange.

I've a feeling that

'The [stock] market is a device for transferring money from the impatient to the patient.' ( Warren Buffett)

May ring very true for this over the next few months.

I'll be watching to see how this plays out... the ICO is almost as fascinating as the token!

I'm in the same boat!
I just can't see how they can keep getting the 6400eth needed every day just to keep the price at current levels...I mean they could if they just buy and sell buy and sell every day but I think eventually something gotta give. A lot can happen in crypto in one year. So, yes, I'm betting on this as well.

But you are right that:

the ICO is almost as fascinating as the token!
Nanzo

Very true! At the end of this we could make a case study :))

I think as long as you have a decent amount of ETH, BTC and fiat... at some point in the next year, you'll be able to pick up EOS cheaper.

As you say, a year is a (very) long time in crypto! In that time we've seen Steem hit a high $4 and a low of 7 cents!!

I'm hoping for an indecent amount of all :D

Nice read though I am not sure what you meant by this - "But then, those who already did will get cheaper coins" and how does that analysis come about.

Well you know the price / coin in the daily auction comes from the amount of ETH invested. So if there are 3200eth then you get 2x the EOS for the same price vs ICO price [ right? ]. Now, if I were to get in here, I'll automatically lower the amount of EOS ppl get for the price including myself. So I'm raising the price if I enter the auction but I'm also giving the people already in a good price if I don't :)
Makes sense?

It does.

With EOS already floating on Kraken and Bitfinex, I would suspect that Eth/round would follow the market i.e. If the price of EOS is higher then ico price on the exchanges, then contribution will also exceed 6400ETH and vice vesa.

Do you for see a chance of major arbitrage between each round and the prevailing market price at that time?

i'm quite sure ppl will game this system.

I'm thrilled by the almost-flawless way they run the ICO. Besides the potentially earth-shaking ideas they came up with, their philosophy in protecting the little guys from the whales during the ICO sale deserves merit!

if it does not backfire :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64