EOS Block Explorer Display Oddity for Proxy Accounts

in #eos6 years ago

I noticed something funky looking through my proxy lukeeosproxy account's history:

image

I certainly didn't delegate that bandwidth. That account doesn't even have that EOS to delegate in the first place.

I noticed similar entries it in my eos-voter wallet:

I was chatting with @greymass a bit and at first we thought it might be a bug.

At first glance, it looks like the action_trace shows an incorrect receiver value.

{
      "global_action_seq": 88004774,
      "account_action_seq": 59,
      "block_num": 7628456,
      "block_time": "2018-07-25T02:34:37.500",
      "action_trace": {
        "receipt": {
          "receiver": "lukeeosproxy",
          "act_digest": "c709154df23d67f1d21c60b416b4884870d4250bf75e9cfbef7b6baac8e80591",
          "global_sequence": 88004774,
          "recv_sequence": 31,
          "auth_sequence": [[
              "ha2tmobxgyge",
              36
            ]
          ],
          "code_sequence": 7,
          "abi_sequence": 8
        },
        "act": {
          "account": "eosio",
          "name": "delegatebw",
          "authorization": [{
              "actor": "ha2tmobxgyge",
              "permission": "active"
            }
          ],
          "data": {
            "from": "ha2tmobxgyge",
            "receiver": "ha2tmobxgyge",
            "stake_net_quantity": "0.0000 EOS",
            "stake_cpu_quantity": "20.0000 EOS",
            "transfer": 0
          },
          "hex_data": "a09867fd50998569a09867fd50998569000000000000000004454f5300000000400d03000000000004454f530000000000"
        },
        "elapsed": 21,
        "cpu_usage": 0,
        "console": "",
        "total_cpu_usage": 0,
        "trx_id": "5f90bcdc38bcb86be0b26be29468ca67313c9e2a438fb9119a1688df2393ffa5",
        "inline_traces": []
      }
    }

I thought this might be a bug, but then I noticed the account in question had proxied their vote to my EOS proxy account lukeeosproxy.

Now that makes sense because when an account which votes via a proxy changes their staked EOS amounts, that action will also impact the weight of the vote for their proxy. Instead of this being a bug with EOS, I think it may be a bug with how bloks.io and the voting tool are displaying this action when proxy accounts are involved. I checked eosflare.io, eospark.com, and myeoskit.com which seem to be fine, though the messages are a little confusing seeing someone else's bandwidth changes in my account history.

Instead of saying my account staked or unstaked an amount the account itself didn't have, the explorers should probably say something like:

"Your vote weight decreased because user X undelegated Y EOS from their account."

or

"Your vote weight increased because user X delegated Y EOS to their account."

Thanks to @anyx and @jesta for talking this through with me.

If you still haven't voted for an EOS block producer, please do so. If you're not sure who to vote for, set me as your proxy via lukeeosproxy. Otherwise, give out some votes for some solid technical block producers adding value to the ecosystem like eosdacserver and teamgreymass.

If you're wondering where to find out about different block explorers and tools you can use for EOS, check out this site which I found very useful:

http://allthingseos.com/

You can find, well, all things EOS related there. :)


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

When I started reading the post I was actually ready to make my neurons work a little harder :-)

Thanks for explaining it is simple terms. I guess its not exactly a problem that I'll face because I can't really imagine somebody else selecting me as their proxy. Still, this tid-bit is going to remain with me...

Yeah, I already did the work to figure out what was going on and when I realized it wasn't something I needed to create a github issue ticket for, I figured I might as well blog about it and send the blog to those involved. @eoscafe already has a fix ready to deploy after reading this. :)

EOS related stuff is racking my brain lately as well. Still hoping the Jungle testnet can get back up because I have to do more testing.

Hi @lukestokes...... Eos is the west coin and block chain

congratulations friend, very good post, very incredible. I leave you my upvote, I follow you. I hope your upvote and that you follow me

You're not adding any value with comments like this:

Some people will just flag these comments because begging for votes or follows is just annoying. Maybe give the post about reputation a read I mentioned here.

Hi @lukestokes, first of all I want to thank you again for your delegation that you made to us to the team of provenezuela, and secondly I wanted to tell you that we are working with EOS Venezuela and we want to be pioneers in training and educating blockchain developers in Venezuela and Latin America, working to build a strong community and promote EOS based ventures. and we wanted to know if we could count on your vote as a block producer and sorry to bother you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81