EOS - Important Warning Regarding Registering a Public Key for the ICO

in #eos7 years ago

Must watch for everyone participating in the EOS ICO!

Sort:  

Incredibly concise and much appreciated for the content, following you.

Hi @crypto-investor, thanks for sharing. Then after taking a look, I got some questions. Do we need to do the public key registration asap or after the 341days ico? And I noticed there are 3 public keys in bitshares for example the Owner Key, Active Key and Memo Key. Which one you think should we register?

I do believe you have considerable time to register the public key. My understanding is that you can claim your tokens anytime after the window for investing closes, meaning you could wait the 341 day period, and probably for a brief period after that. I also think you can wait that long to register your key. Your public key must be registered before the EOS guys take a snapshot of all registered public keys from the Ethereum blockchain to build the genesis block of the EOS blockchain. Some people are wagering they can participate and figure out these details later, and I agree someone will probably make an easier tutorial during that period. But please be aware this understanding I have is not guaranteed, it is just my best guess from how the documentation is written and my technical understanding. It would be better to see something the EOS guys have provided on this about deadlines to do these activities.

Yes I agree, i guess ill focus on buying the tokens for now :)

hopefully they change their way of registering the key. It makes it really complicated for newbies like me.

you can use this tool created by someone for generating the keys, no command line stuff involved.

https://nadejde.github.io/eos-token-sale

Reference: https://steemit.com/eos/@thimom/how-to-use-myetherwallet-for-the-eos-ico

It is so annoying for non techie like me. Unfortunately the industry is still in its infancy and those with the skill still rule the day. Until ICO become coin offerings to the general masses technical language and ways of doing things will persist.

My hope is after launch, hopefully within the first 5 days, but maybe after, someone creates some online tools for us to use in order to participate. The EOS Testnet did have tools where people like me and you could get through it without installing Linux. Hopefully once EOS is live on the ICO, those tools are also live. If I can manage my way through it, I may make a video about doing that.

It certainly is a great time to be alive! I missed out on all the other booms and not intending to do the same this around.

even though from US and staying up pretty late, doesn't mean I can't see how this plays out. go steemians!!!

Do they have no choice, but to make it that complicated?
The conspiracy theorist in me is wondering if they made this on purpose :D

Never Use an exchange to get into an ICO. I got burned.

how and why?

This answered a lot of questions I had. Thank you!

Hi @cryptoinvestor, thanks for sharing this post I really appreciate it and I am a newbie on this site hope I can learn a lot from you

Definitely participate in the ICO after reading so much information submitted by you.

Thanks for the heads up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51