EOS Price Speculation

in #eos7 years ago

If you have been on Steemit for a while you have probably heard of EOS, the project founded by Dan Larimer (ex Steemit CTO). EOS is one of the most ambitious projects in blockchain and is set to be released in 2018, but what every crypto investor is wondering at this moment is What would be the right price for EOS once its released?

This sure is an impossible question to answer, but one can speculate by analyzing some key factors:

  • EOS Future Total Supply
  • Market Cap of Similar Coins
  • Social Media Coverage = Hype Levels

EOS is undergoing a 1 year long ICO and, as it was expected, price has declined as the emission has grown. Total coins in circulation will be 1.000.000.000 EOS once ICO ends, so if the price remains at $0.50 for example, the total market cap of EOS will be one of 500 million dollars.

Now, let’s look at the market cap of similar coins, and by similar I mean coins that allow you to deploy smart contracts on their network. The first reference we should look at is Ethereum, the second largest crypto in the world with a massive 24.5 Billion Market Cap. Now, I don’t expect EOS to surpass Ethereum´s popularity any time soon after its release, but even Ethereum´s clone (ETC) has a market cap of 1 billion dollars. NEO is another interesting comparison, this coin reached a 2.5 billion valuations before the China FUD started.

The last point I always like to study is the Social Media Coverage, I do this because I am certain that in crypto (and probably in stocks too), hype is a huge factor that determines the price. EOS, has spent a lot of money in marketing, they attend most major conferences and have excellent communications channels (blog, telegram, reddit, etc). I suspect they will use all their resources to promote EOS release next year.

Taking all of this factors into account, it is my belief that EOS will have a total market cap of around 5 billion dollars once released, with the potential of reaching 10 billion within the first year of its birth. This will set the price of EOS at $5.

EOS-banner.png

Source: eos.io

Summary
Future Market Cap of EOS: $5.000.000.000
Future price of EOS: $5
Note to Self: Buy EOS now for a 10x profit in less than 12 months.

Sort:  

Its indeed a guess if EOS will deliver or not. I invested in it because of the track record of Dan and the almost unlimited funds they have to make it a succes.

Would be strange if this will be a complete fail no ?

Would be strange if this will be a complete fail no ?

Doubt it, Dan will finish it and as it is open source the community will improve it.

That would be a bare minimum to finish it :) Price is indeed temporary but it hurts :)

Same feeling here.

I think this is a very reasonable assessment, and I agree with you ! The question is now how far it will drop before it starts heading up . Either way. If you are long term, now would be a good time to start buying in

Yes, I think the safe thing to do is to buy small amounts every week during the fall.

Hi! I hope you can answer a question about registering EOS? I bought some and after the termination, now have it displayed as EOS in MyEtherWallet. I thought that was it, but the instructions say:

"Don't forget to register your EOS key on or before the distribution ends on 2 June 2018"

Can you tell me what this means, how to do it, and where this key is?
Many thanks!

EOS will create its own blockchain after July 2, 2018. You have to register your Ethereum token address to a "real" EOS address/private key before this happens, or you will lose all your funds.

I actually have a lot of faith in this because I see a lot of potential and that's why it's better to make an investment , and forget about it until it rises

That is the sane way to go, it is better than going crazy trying to speculate on the price lol.

Yeah. I just bought few as it is really cheap by exchanging my BCash which I really don't believe in as it's a miner's coin.
EOS once released as per the vision would create a big difference in the cryto space as it could be a well thought and designed system. I may buy few more if it keeps dipping due to this fear.
Yes, it may reach 5$ within no time after launch depending on the big names that would join EOS platform. It's a wait and watch game until they deliver. But guys keep watch on your EOS tokens as they might need to be exchanged from ERC20 to EOS native system tokens once launched. So don't forget to place a reminder now itself. Cheers!!!

wrong move selling your BCH. Check this comment in 4 months and you'll see why

Lol, so far I am in profit. I can always swap it to a profitable and stable crypto than BCash. It's a greed coin for miners. You may see BGold worth more than BCash. Miners are completely manipulating the chain. It's all because of the self-proclaimed great economist Roger Ver and the Bit-Main. It's a delusionary coin.

Hi @michaelkimani,
Here we are after almost 3 to 4 months.
EOS went up from 0.40$ to 13.61$

BCash is like from 400$ to 1667$

You can check the charts yourself for old data. Hope now you know BCash is trash and the team is really incompetent on any changes than just making the block 8MB which wasn't necessary at all.
Any thoughts on this mate?

I am buying EOS every week. Small amounts each time price dips.

I don't know, I watch everyone saying EOS is an ambitious project, it might be a good one to invest etc. For me, all I see for now is hype, ICO lasts forever and it is kind of strange. I will stay away for a while from investing into EOS

I think hype is 80% of crypto´s price, if not more!

Having said that, @dan is the one behind EOS and he has a track record of delivering ground breaking projects: BTS - STEEMIT

I hold some EOS and plan to keep buying.

This really looks promising in the long run.

Hey @chitty : Would you share a 5-6 years price prediction?
I know it is pure speculation but I am just curious what would you think.

Nice read! Have a great weekend!

I think is EOS is really successful it may compete with ETH. Considering 1B coins would be generated by end of their ICO, in 5 years it may be in early hundreds. If Biggies and well known people start using it as an application platform it may be even sooner. Just my 2 cents, Invest wisely after doing enough research. Cheers!!!

Hey,

I agree, except for the last part, the marketing. Last week I have attended Global Blockchain Summit in Shanghai and there were a lot of people who have not heard about the platform, even developers. Many of those who have heard, had weird objections, which could be easily dispersed with proper communication.

Mhhh what should I sell to buy EOS... or spent some money extra... I followed EOS quite a while, and I promissed myself to wait till december.... mhhh now I have to dive in ......

Hi Chitty.... Thanks for sharing your views on EOS. Quick Question: Any idea, if EOS will allow Developers (who build DApps on EOS) to get a sub-token for themselves. That is, similar to ERC-20 for Ether, does EOS have something similar in mind. If that happens, as per my understanding of the economics of smart contracts it will bring a lot more value to EOS tokens. Developers with business ideas will issue ICOs on EOS platform and in return give their sub-tokens (Lets call it EOSDAC-20 tokens for now) and they hire developers (using the EOS they collected from ICO) and the profits from the DApp will be returned to ICO investors (EOSDAC-20 token holders) as EOS tokens. Is this economics similar to Ethererum possible in EOS?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17